Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Taylor ‘ambiguosity’ Paur Claims Online Poker’s Highest Honor

Steve ‘gboro780’ Gross Nearly Wins Back-to-Back Titles

by Julio Rodriguez |  Published: Feb 18, 2011


The Card Player Online Player of the Year (OPOY) award was established in 2007 in an effort to recognize those who have excelled on the virtual felt. Over the last four years, the OPOY award has gone from being a novelty prize to the most sought after honor in the online poker community. Players can earn OPOY points for going deep in any online tournament that follows the rule of 100. Points are offered in any tournament that features a buy-in of $100 or more, a prize pool of $100,000 or more, and a field size of 100 or more players. In 2007, there was a limited number of qualifying tournaments, but the point-scoring opportunities have nearly doubled since then, and there are now dozens each week. Previous OPOY winners are Isaac “westmenloAA” Baron (2007), Alex “AJKHoosier1” Kamberis (2008), and Steve “gboro780” Gross (2009). Taylor Paur Has Record-Setting Year The ...

You Are Previewing Digital Subscription Content

To continue reading:


Already a subscriber?