Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Changing Face of the Player of the Year Race

by Justin Marchand |  Published: Oct 02, 2009


If you look at the data, the Card Player 2009 Player of the Year (POY) race has undergone quite an interesting paradigm shift. For the first time ever, more international players are among the top 10 than U.S. players. What was once a United States-centric race now resembles a World Cup soccer match. We’re about three-fourths through the 2009 race, and only three players from the United States (Eric Baldwin, Brock Parker, and Cornel Andrew Cimpan) sit in the top 10. The rest of the leader board is represented by Russia (Vitaly Lunkin, the big winner this year so far with more than $3.8 million), Italy (Jeffrey Lisandro), Canada (Mike Leah and Poorya Nasari), Mexico (Angel Guillen), Brazil (Alexandre Gomes), and Ireland (Jude Ainsworth). In the previous 12 Player of the Year races, there has never been an international champion. Some previous champions — most notably, Daniel Negreanu (2004), Men ...

You Are Previewing Digital Subscription Content

To continue reading:


Already a subscriber?