Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Marvin Rettenmaier Starts Summer on “Mad” Run

2012 WPT Champion Chasing Player of the Year Title

by Erik Fast |  Published: Jun 27, 2012


Since its inception in 1997, the Card Player Player of the Year award has been a sign of consisent achievement over an entire year. One could not capture that title by simply winning one tournament. To win took skill, determination and commitment. One need only look at the list of prior winners like Daniel Negreanu, T.J. Cloutier, Michael Mizrachi, David Pham and a host of other great champions to know that it is not an easy award to win. In addition to all of the previous winners of this award being world-class players, another tie that bound all them was that they were primarily players from the United States, as that was where the majority of the tournaments took place. With tournament poker’s popularity on the rise all around the world, and the growth of the European Poker Tour, the World Series of Poker Europe and a myriad of other ...

You Are Previewing Digital Subscription Content

To continue reading:


Already a subscriber?