Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Player of the Year

Gregory Brooks Jumps Into Player of the Year Race Top Five

by Ryan Lucchesi |  Published: Apr 15, 2011


The World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic $10,000 no-limit hold’em main event once again attracted a strong field to Commerce Casino in late February. There were 681 players who entered the tournament, and that created a large prize pool and a multitude of Card Player 2010 Player of the Year (POY) points. Most of those points went to the champion of the event, Gregory Brooks. He beat out a tough final table that included former WPT winners Carlos Mortensen and Vivek Rajkumar to take home the top prize of $1,654,120 and 2,400 POY points, which puts him in a tie for fourth place in the standings with Aussie Millions main-event winner David Gorr. Brooks and Gorr are now just 600 points behind PokerStars Caribbean Adventure champion and current POY leader Galen Hall. For his runner-up finish at the L.A. Poker Classic, Rajkumar won $908,730 and 2,000 points, and he is ...

You Are Previewing Digital Subscription Content

To continue reading:


Already a subscriber?