Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Gregory Brooks Wins World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic

Defeats a Tough Final Table Loaded With Top Pros and Legends of the Game

by Ryan Lucchesi |  Published: Apr 15, 2011


The 2011 L.A. Poker Classic was once again a major poker destination recently. The lineup of 54 events with generous blinds structures and the mild Southern California winter weather combined to attract tens of thousands of players to the world’s largest poker room at Commerce Casino. Millions of dollars in prize money was awarded, as well, with the winner of the World Poker Tour $10,000 no-limit hold’em main event becoming a millionaire. The WPT main event is the crown jewel of this tournament series, and it was once again the featured attraction this year. The tournament attracted 681 players, and the final table featured two former WPT titlists in Carlos Mortensen and Vivek Rajkumar. Familiar faces Darryll Fish and 2009 Card Player Online Player of the Year Steve Gross, and lesser-known hopefuls Gregory Brooks and Amir Lehavot, rounded out the final six. Brooks wasted no time grabbing the chip lead ...

You Are Previewing Digital Subscription Content

To continue reading:


Already a subscriber?