Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

A Story Waiting for an Ending

Nine Players Emerge From the Main Event of the 2008 World Series of Poker to Earn the Right to Play for the World Championship … in November

by Ryan Lucchesi |  Published: Sep 11, 2008


The main event of the World Series of Poker has changed a lot since the players voted Johnny Moss the first world champion at Binion's Horseshoe Casino in 1970. The first modification took place the very next year, in 1971, when the tournament was made a freezeout competition for the first time. Over the years, the tournament has changed in numerous and unforeseen ways. The number of days in the main event has increased, as has the number of payouts. The preliminary events have changed, as well, evolving from a cash game on the side to a handful of events, and growing to 52 open buy-in events and a ladies and a seniors no-limit hold'em championship in 2008.

You Are Previewing Digital Subscription Content

To continue reading:


Already a subscriber?