Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Yoshihiro Tasaka Wins 2008 APPT Seoul Main Event

APPT Seoul Draws 165 Players in Second Season


The third day of play at the PokerStars Asia Pacific Poker Tour Seoul event saw 16 players return to the tables in hopes of chasing down a first-place prize worth $128,250. A total of 165 players bought in for $2,870 at the Paradise Walker-Hill Casino in Seoul, South Korea, and the top 16 players all received prize money. Action was slow on the final day as players tightened up to increase their winnings in the tournament, but the end featured a short heads-up battle between two Japanese players. Yoshihiro Tasaka defeated Hidenari Shiono when his 9-2 offsuit paired the board on the flop to win him the top prize. Of the 35 Japanese players who attended the event, six cashed for an impressive showing. PokerStars sponsored Player Daniel Schreiber (USA) finished in sixth place. Other notable players in the field included Team PokerStars pros Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier, Greg Raymer, Hevad “Rain” Khan, as well as APPT Macau winner Edward Sabat. The next stop on the APPT will take place in Auckland, New Zealand, Oct. 9-12.

Daniel SchreiberHere are the final-table results:

1: Yoshihiro Tasaka (Japan) -- $128,250
2: Hidenari Shiono (Japan) -- $80,156
3: Brian Kang (Canada) -- $44,085
4: Fam Yat (Singapore) -- $32,062
5: Yuji Masaki (Japan) -- $26,050
6: Daniel Schreiber (USA) -- $20,038
7: David Horvath (Hungary) -- $16,031
8: Daniel Williams (Canada) -- $12,023
9: Sam Faqiryar (Canada) -- $8,015