Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Adam Weinraub Wins 2019 Card Player Poker Tour Ocean's Eleven San Diego Classic

Southern California Native Outlasts Field of 728 Total Entries To Win $32,212


2019 CPPT Ocean's Eleven San Diego Classic Champion Adam WeinraubAdam Weinraub emerged victorious from a field of 728 total entries to win the April running of the 2019 Card Player Poker Tour Ocean’s Eleven San Diego Classic.

The 2007 World Poker Tour Celebrity Invitional champion earned $32,212 for taking down this event, bringing his career live tournament earnings to $730,877. At the final table the Orange, California resident was wearing a shirt emblazoned with the title of the movie he produced, Walk To Vegas. The movie was co-written by WPT commentator Vince Van Patten, who also stars in the film.

Weinraub was one of the 51 direct entries into day 2 of this event made for $1,500. The day 2 players joined the 677 entries made over the six starting flights to build a final prize pool of $201,700, which was awarded to the top 98 finishers.

Plenty of notables made the money but failed to survive to the final table, including former champion Barry Seidman (95th – $400), Bobby Suer (82nd – $425) and two-time World Series of Poker bracelet winner Erick Lindgren (23rd – $1,355).

A number of big names made it to the final table in this event, including 2014 WPT Legends of Poker main event runner-up finisher Mike Eskandari. He went on to finish sixth for $7,320. Bicycle Casino Tournament Director Mo Fathipour, who pioneered the Quantum Tournament format that this tournament utilizes, finished fifth for $9,500.

In the end, it came down to a heads-up showdown between Weinraub and Jason Cohen. Weinraub was able to close out the tournament, sending Cohen home with $26,868 as the runner-up finisher.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings
1 Adam Weinraub $32,212
2 Jason Cohen $26,868
3 Joseph Zeller $19,720
4 Ajay Chabra $12,500
5 Mo Fathipour $9,500
6 Massoud Eskandari $7,320
7 Albert Wallake $5,695
8 Luis Rodi $4,480
9 Frank Benchanan $3,570

A full list of payouts can be found here.

This was the ninth CPPT event held at the legendary Ocean’s 11 Casino. Previous winners of this event include Shawn Busse, Robert DeAgazio, Barry Knowlton, Barry Seidman, Scott “Brian” Blount, David McCaw, Seth Brown and Matthew Welch, who defeated a field of 823 entries this January to win $41,300.

Ocean’s 11 is the only casino in Southern California located along the Pacific Ocean on the Interstate 5 freeway, less than a mile from some of the area’s most picturesque beaches. It boasts 50 tables of the best poker and table games found anywhere in California with all the favorite poker games, including no-limit and limit Texas hold’em, Omaha, Omaha hi-lo split eight-or-better, pot-limit Omaha, and crazy pineapple.

For more information on this event, please visit the CPPT homepage.