Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


2014 CarbonPoker Card Player Player of the Year Update -- Eric Blair Climbs To 15th Place

Jeff Madsen and Bryan Campanello Won This Week On The Tournament Circuit


A couple recognizable names made a splash this week in the 2014 Card Player Player of the Year race, sponsored by CarbonPoker. Here is a look at the events that most influenced the overall standings over the past seven days:

World Series of Poker Circuit Harrah’s New Orleans

Eric Blair climbed to 15th place in the POY standingsThe final World Series of Poker Circuit main event of the 2013/14 season is now in the books. A total of 557 entries were made in the $1,675 buy-in WSOP Circuit Harrah’s New Orleans main event, building a total prize pool of $835,500. In the end Texas’ Bryan Campanello emerged victorious, earning his third ring, his first main event victory on the circuit, the $175,459 first-place prize and also the last circuit-qualified seat into the WSOP National Championship, a $1 million added event which gets underway in Atlantic City on Thursday.

Also noteworthy at this final table was Eric Blair’s close bid to win back-to-back WSOP Circuit main events. Blair topped a field of 330 at The Lodge Casino in Black Hawk, Colorado earlier this month. He ended up falling just short, finishing fifth in this event for $44,307 and 350 Card Player Player of the Year points.

This was Blair’s fifth final table finish of the year, with three titles including his earlier circuit title, a win in a $1,172 Deepstacks Extravaganza $300,000 guaranteed event at the Venetian in late April and also victory in a $2,100 prelim at the Wynn Classic. As a result he has climbed into 15th place in the overall POY standings.

Heartland Poker Tour California State Poker Championship

Jeff Madsen A total of 584 entries were made in the Heartland Poker Tour California State Poker Championship $1,650 no-limit hold’em main event, the $500,000 guaranteed tournament that was the centerpiece of the HPT’s stop at the Commerce Casino this week in Los Angeles. The strong turnout saw the prize pool grow to nearly $850,000 to easily beat the guarantee.

From the sea of tables the field was narrowed down to a final table of nine, one that featured a number of recognizable names including Doug Lee (4th – $53,430) and Amit Makhija (3rd – $72,150) and eventual champion Jeff Madsen. The 28-year-old California native earned $160,060 and 840 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win. This was Madsen’s second title of 2014, having won a $1,090 six-max no-limit prelim at the WPT World Championship at the Borgata in April for $52,150 and 336 POY points. As a result of these two wins Madsen now sits in 55th place in the overall POY standings.

Here is a look at the current top 20 in the POY standings:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Mustapha Kanit 3,364 $988,835
2 Dominik Panka 3,315 $1,840,936
3 Mike McDonald 3,312 $4,357,089
4 Keven Stammen 3,052 $1,610,129
5 Dylan Wilkerson 2,520 $934,575
6 Eugene Katchalov 2,480 $725,061
7 Mukul Pahuja 2,442 $1,048,912
8 Ami Barer 2,430 $1,493,335
9 James Carroll 2,372 $1,324,754
10 Sorel Mizzi 2,170 $1,045,207
11 Chris Moorman 2,100 $1,015,460
11 Antonio Buonanno 2,100 $1,715,439
13 Jack Salter 2,038 $1,158,521
14 Byron Kaverman 2,025 $1,229,636
15 Eric Blair 1,982 $324,303
16 Oleksii Khoroshenin 1,864 $801,740
17 Sotirios Koutoupas 1,848 $866,592
18 Scott Seiver 1,785 $1,575,155
19 Glenn LaFaye 1,750 $662,840
20 Victoria Coren 1,680 $657,780