Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Player of the Year

Men Nguyen, Jeffrey Papola Make Big POY Moves

by Ryan Lucchesi |  Published: Jul 23, 2010


Men Nguyen is the most dominant player in the history of the Card Player Player of the Year award. He is the only four-time winner of the award, claiming the title in 1997, 2001, 2003, and 2005. Since the POY award began in 1997, he has won it 30 percent of the time, and he just entered the top 10 in this year’s race during the 2010 World Series of Poker. Nguyen won his seventh gold bracelet on June 6 when he topped 149 opponents and was awarded $394,800 and 900 POY points. That put his 2010 total at 1,170 points when coupled with his runner-up finish in a $500 no-limit hold’em event at the L.A. Poker Classic in February. Nguyen joined the top 10 when he made his second final table of the summer on June 20, finishing second in the $5,000 six-handed no-limit hold’em event to win $412,746 ...

You Are Previewing Digital Subscription Content

To continue reading:


Already a subscriber?