Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

EPT Germany, NBC Heads-Up Championship Influence Player of the Year Race

EPT Dortmund Creates a Crowd at Seventh Place

by Ryan Lucchesi |  Published: May 19, 2009


The third PokerStars European Poker Tour stop in Germany produced the second woman champion in its history. Sandra Naujoks topped a field of 667 players to take home a first-place prize of €917,000. She also was awarded 1,920 Card Player 2009 Player of the Year (POY) points, to pull into a four-way tie for seventh place with fellow EPT champions Moritz Kranich (EPT Deauville) and Jens Kyllonen (EPT Scandinavian Open), and Aussie Millions winner Stewart Scott. Naujoks defeated Holger Kanisch in the final heads-up match when her A-Q dominated his A-9. Kanisch was awarded €533,000 and 1,600 points, putting him in a tie for 13th place with Arnaud Esquevin, Peter Rho, Peter Hedlund, and Mike Sowers. The final table in Dortmund was one of the toughest of the fifth season of the EPT, with William Thorson (seventh place), Luca Pagano (sixth place), defending EPT Dortmund champion Michael McDonald (fifth place), ...

You Are Previewing Digital Subscription Content

To continue reading:


Already a subscriber?