Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Poker Tour -- Legends of Poker Begins Friday

The World Poker Tour Returns to L.A. Where the Main Event Features a $5,000 Buy-in


The Bicycle CasinoThe World Poker Tour will return to Los Angeles and the Bicycle Casino when the Legends of Poker $5,000 no-limit hold’em championship event begins on Friday, August 20. Day 1A will begin at 1 p.m. PDT. Day 1B will take place on Saturday, Aug. 21 and the tournament will crown a champion next week on Wednesday, Aug. 25.

Players will begin with 25,000 in tournament chips and the blinds will begin at 50-100. Levels will be 90 minutes long. There will be a 10-minute break after each level. The tournament begins with nine-handed tables. There will be a dinner break each evening tentatively scheduled for 7:30-8:30 p.m.

The Legends of Poker tournament series has been running at the Bike since July 28 and so far 21 events have crowned champions. Notable winners of preliminary events included Soheil Shamseddin, who won the $225 pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better with rebuys event to take home $10,514. The largest preliminary event by far was the $335 no-limit hold’em event that began the tournament series. The tournament had a guaranteed prize pool of $400,000, which was easily eclipsed by the 1,716 players that entered. The champion was Murdock Schelechi and he was awarded $130,000.

Card Player will bring you full live coverage from this event, including live updates, chip counts, photos, and videos from CardPlayer TV.

Here is a look at the schedule for the event:

NOTE: All tournament days will begin at 1 p.m., except for the final table, which will begin at 4 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 20: Day 1A (Play 7 levels)
Saturday, Aug. 21: Day 1B (Play 7 levels)
Sunday, Aug. 22: Day 2 (Play 7 levels)
Monday, Aug. 23: Day 3 (Play down to 27 players)
Tuesday, Aug. 24: Day 4 (Play down to final table)
Wednesday, Aug. 25: Final Table

Prahlad Friedman2009 Legends of Poker

Buy-in: $10,000
Number of Entries: 279
Total Prize Pool: $2,625,500
First-Place Prize: $1,009,000
Places Paid: 27

Final-Table Results:

1: Prahlad Friedman — $1,009,000 (pictured right)
2: Kevin Schaffel — $471,670
3: Todd Terry — $231,300
4: Toto Leonidas — $144,600
5: Sam Stein — $116,225
6: Mike Krescanko — $89,220

Previous Legends of Poker Champions:

Season I: Chris Karagulleyan — $258,000
Season II: Mel Judah — $579,375
Season III: Doyle Brunson — $1,198,260
Season IV: Alex Kahaner — $1,150,000
Season V: Joe Pelton — $1,577,170
Season VI: Dan Harrington — $1,599,865
Season VII: John Phan — $1,091,428
Season VIII: Prahlad Friedman — $1,009,000