Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

European Poker Tour -- Kiev Main Event Day 3

You Can Now Follow the Action Live on the PokerStars Blog Feed


Liya Gerasimova Eliminated on Day 3 at the EPT Kiev Main EventA short day 3 took place at the €5,000 no-limit hold’em main event at the PokerStars European Poker Tour stop in Kiev, Ukraine. Just 68 players began the day and the money bubble burst when 40 players remained. The third level of the day saw the 41st player bust out of the tournament after a half hour of hand-for-hand play. It was shortly into the fourth level of the day (level 17) that the prescribed stopping-point of 32 players was reached. Those players have bagged up their chips, and they will return tomorrow at noon EEST (2 a.m. PST) to begin the march down to the final table of eight. You can follow along with all of the action live on the PokerStars blog feed in our live updates section for this event.

Day 3 was tough on the notable players remaining, as John Cernuto, Liya Gerasimova (pictured right), and Arnaud Mattern all the hit the rail during play before the money was reached. Maxim Lykov will take the chip lead into tomorrow with 636,000. Check back at the end of play tomorrow for another summary of the action and official chip counts heading into the final table on Sunday. Here are the tournament statistics from day 3:

Top 10 Chip Counts Day 3:

Maxim Lykov (Russia): 636,000
Vadim Markushevski (Belarus): 631,500
Vitaly Tolokonnikov (Russia): 613,500
Jonas Kronwitter (Germany): 550,000
Joram Voelklein (Germany): 520,500
Adrian Schaap (Holland): 520,000
Igor Dubinsky (Ukraine): 517,000
Waldemar Kopyl (Germany): 378,000
Nikita Lebedev (Russia): 346,000
Kirill Boydachenko (Russia): 345,500

Notable Eliminations:

John Cernuto
Arnaud Mattern
Liya Gerasimova


40: Jorg Peisert — €7,610
39: Vyacheslav Rotach — €7,610
38: David Aslanyan — €7,610
37: Mihaylo Demidenko — €7,610
36: Volodyhyr Sendetskiy — €7,610
35: Viktor Ivanov — €7,610
34: Luca Falaschi — €7,610
33: Albert Sungatullin — €7,610