Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

EPT -- Grand Final Begins on Tuesday

Card Player will be Covering this Event Live from Monte Carlo


Day 1 at the 2009 PokerStars European Poker Tour Grand Final begins on Tuesday, Apr. 28 at noon CEST (3 a.m. PDT). Card Player will be providing live coverage from the event in live updates, chip counts, and photos. There will also be an EPT Live video feed featured on during the last two days of the event. A massive field is expected to participate in the Grand Final for season five. Last year, Canadian Glen Chorny beat a field of 842 players to take home €2,020,000 in prize money. If the 1,178 players who just entered the EPT San Remo event last week are any indication, this year’s Grand Final field should break 1,000 players and create the largest prize pool in European tournament poker history. Check back in on Tuesday to follow this exciting event, brought to you live from the most historic gambling setting on the planet in Monte Carlo.

Here is a look at the schedule for this event:

Note: All preliminary tournament days will begin at noon CEST (3 a.m. PDT). The final table will begin at 1 p.m. CEST (4 a.m. PDT). Players begin with 30,000 chips. Levels are 60-minutes long on day 1, and they will increase to 75 minutes for days 2-5.

Tuesday, Apr. 28: Day 1A – play eight levels

Wednesday, Apr. 29: Day 1B – play eight levels

Thursday, Apr. 30: Day 2 – play six levels

Friday, May 1: Day 3 – play down to 32 players

Saturday, May 2: Day 4 – play down to eight players

Sunday, May 3: Final table

Glen Chorny2008 EPT Grand Final:

Buy-in: €10,000

Number of Entries: 842

Total Prize Pool: €8,420,000

First-Place Prize: €2,020,000

Places Paid: 80

Final-Table Results:

1: Glen Chorny — €2,020,000

2: Denes Kalo — €1,179,000

3: Maxime Villemure — €715,000

4: Isaac Baron — €589,000

5: Michael Martin — €421,000

6: Luca Pagano — €337,000

7: Valeriy Ilikyan — €253,000

8: Antonio Esfandiari — €168,000

Former EPT Grand Final Champions:

Season 1: Rob Hollink

Season 2: Jeff Williams

Season 3: Gavin Griffin

Season 4: Glen Chorny