Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

EPT -- San Remo Event Begins Saturday

Card Player Will Be Providing Live Updates from Italy


The penultimate stop on the season-five schedule of the PokerStars European Poker Tour begins on Saturday, April 18 in San Remo, Italy. Card Player will be there to provide live updates, chip counts, photos, and interviews from this event, which is hosted at the Casino San Remo on the shores of the Italian Riviera. The buy-in for the event is €5,000, and the tournament will be capped at 800 players. This event marked the Italian debut of the EPT one year ago, and a huge field of 701 players bought into the tournament to create an impressive total prize pool worth €3.1 million. In the end, it was young American Jason Mercier who topped the field to win €869,000 at a final table that also featured Team PokerStars pro and Italian fan favorite Dario Minieri.

The San Remo stop will also feature a charity tournament to assist the victims of the Abruzzo earthquake. The charity no-limit hold’em tournament features a €1,200 buy-in, with €200 going directly to Poker for Life and the Red Cross. PokerStars will contribute an additional €300 to charity for each player who enters.

Here is a look at the tournament schedule for the main event:

Note: All tournament days begin at 2 p.m. CEST (5 a.m. PDT). Players begin with 10,000 in chips and levels will be 60 minutes long.

Saturday, Apr. 18: Day 1A – play seven levels
Sunday, Apr. 19: Day 1B – play seven levels
Monday, Apr. 20: Day 2 – play six levels
Tuesday, Apr. 21: Day 3 – play down to 24 players
Wednesday, Apr. 22: Day 4 – play down to final table
Thursday, Apr. 23: Final table

2008 EPT San Remo

Jason MercierBuy-in: €5,000
Number of Entries: 701
Total Prize Pool: €3,100,000
First-Place Prize: €869,000
Places Paid: 72

Final-Table Results:

1: Jason Mercier -- €869,000
2: Anthony Lellouche -- €505,000
3: Dario Minieri -- €287,600
4: Eric Koskas -- €223,600
5: Gregory Genovese -- €188,500
6: William Thorson -- €140,600
7: Dag Palovic -- €111,800
8: Marcus Bower -- €76,700