Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Dewey Tomko and Henry Orenstein in Poker Hall of Fame

Induction Ceremony Takes Place at WSOP Main Event Nov. 9


Dewey TomkoTwo new players will be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame Nov. 9, as part of the World Series of Poker main event’s final table kickoff. The new inductees are Dewey Tomko and Henry Orenstein.

Most poker fans know who Tomko is. He’s a three-time World Series of Poker bracelet winner, a two-time main event runner-up, and has played in more consecutive WSOP main events than anyone else (35). His real first name is Duane, by the way.

Orenstein also has had some poker success (he holds a WSOP bracelet for a seven-card stud event from 1996) and he played in some of the biggest cash games in his day, but the 80-something Holocaust survivor has as much to do with the popularity of poker as any of the players.

Orenstein holds the patent for the holecard cam, which changed the game of poker completely. Without it, TV poker would not be as compelling, and the poker boom wouldn’t have been nearly as big as it was. He also owns Poker PROductions, which produces some ofthe best-known poker shows out there, including the NBC Heads-Up Championship and High Stakes Poker.

The main event final table takes place at the Penn and Teller Theater at the Rio Nov. 9. The finalalists play down to two players, who then play down to one on Nov. 10. The table will be broadcast on ESPN Tuesday, Nov. 11.

The Poker Hall of Fame was bought by Harrah’s when it purchased the WSOP in 2004. There are 37 members, including Tomko and Orenstein, and 16 of those members are still living and playing.

The members of the Hall of Fame and their date of induction follow:

Tom Abdo (1982)
Crandell Addington (2005)
Bobby Baldwin (2003)
Billy Baxter (2006)
Lyle Berman (2002)
Joe Bernstein (1983)
Benny Binion (1990)
Jack Binion (2005)
Bill Boyd (1981)
Doyle Brunson (1988)
Johnny Chan (2002)
T.J. Cloutier (2006)
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos (1979)
Barbara Enright (2007)
Fred “Sarge” Ferris (1989)
T “Blondie” Forbes (1980)
Henry Green (1986)
Murph Harrold (1984)
Phil “Poker Brat” Hellmuth (2007)
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok (1979)
Red Hodges (1985)
Edmond Hoyle (1979)
Berry Johnston (2004)
Jack Keller (1993)
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale (1979)
Roger Moore (1997)
Johnny Moss (1979)
Henry Orenstein (2008)
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson (1987)
Julius Oral “Little Man” Popwell (1996)
Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston (1992)
David “Chip” Reese (1991)
Jack “Treetop” Straus (1988)
Duane “Dewey” Tomko (2008)
Stu “The Kid” Ungar (2001)
Red Winn (1979)
Sid Wyman (1979)