Poker Coverage:

Anson Tsang Wins Third Career World Series of Poker Gold Bracelet

The Hong Kong Resident Outlasted A Field of 221 Entries In The €2,000 Pot-Limit Omaha At The 2022 WSOP Europe To Earn €95,461


This week, Anson Tsang became just the 125th player in poker history to win three or more World Series of Poker gold bracelets. The Hong Kong resident overcame a field of 221 entries in the €2,000 buy-in pot-limit Omaha event at the 2022 WSOP Europe, securing his third bracelet and the top prize of $95,461.

Tsang has now won a bracelet every other year since his first breakthrough for the gold in 2018. That year he took down this same event at the WSOPE, overcoming 187 entries to earn $105,489. In 2020 he emerged victorious in a $500 buy-in no-limit hold’em event during the WSOP Online festival, adding $150,460 to his lifetime earnings. He now has more than $1 million in career cashes to his name.

In addition to the title and the money, Tsang was also awarded 384 Card Player Player of the Year points for this victory. This was his first POY-qualified score of the year.

This tournament was one of 15 gold-bracelet events being held at the King’s Resort in Rozvadov, Czech Republic. The top 34 finishers made the money, with big names like Roland Israelashvili (32nd), Felipe Ramos (30th), Joni Jouhkimainen (25th), and three-time bracelet winner Norbert Szecsi (18th) all cashing.

2014 WSOP main event third-place finisher Jorryt van Hoof finished ninth for $7,168 when his pocket aces clashed with a flopped straight for Shawn Stroke. Pavel Izotov (8th – $8,893) soon followed to the rail when his pocket queens ran into the pocket aces of Farid Jattin.

Even with that knockout under his belt, Jattin was ultimately the next to fall. The Colombian doubled up multiple players during seven-handed action, resulting in a slide down the leaderboard. In the end, he lost his final all-in against Tsang to be sent home in seventh place ($11,368). This was Jattin’s 10th final-table finish of the year, with three titles won along the way. As a result of his impressive consistency, he has climbed into 9th place in the 2022 POY race standings presented by Global Poker.

Vivian SalibaVivian Saliba’s run in this event came to an end in sixth place. The Brazilian got all-in on a 8Spade Suit5Diamond Suit4Heart Suit flop with KClub Suit9Club Suit6Club Suit5Spade Suit facing the AClub SuitKDiamond SuitQHeart SuitQClub Suit of Tsang. The JDiamond Suit turn and QSpade Suit river kept Tsang ahead and Saliba was knocked out. She earned $14,959 for her strong showing.

Oswin Ziegelbecker got all-in with his overpair of queens leading the gutshot and overcard of Tsang. The river completed Tsang’s straight, sending Ziegelbecker packing in fifth place ($20,245).

Italian bracelet winner Dario Alioto got all-in preflop with A-Q-7-3 with a suited ace. He was up against K-K-6-5 with a suited king for Tomasz Gluszko. Alioto flopped an ace to take the lead, but a king on the river saw him finish fourth for $28,162.

American Shawn Stroke pushed all in on a QHeart SuitQDiamond Suit6Club Suit5Diamond Suit board with ASpade SuitKHeart Suit10Diamond Suit3Diamond Suit as a bluff, only to have Gluszko call with 9Spade Suit8Club Suit8Spade Suit7Spade Suit. The river was the 5Club Suit and Stroke was knocked out in third place ($40,232).

Heads-up play began with Tsang holding roughly a 3:2 chip lead on Gluszko. He was able to extend that lead even further by the time the final hand of the tournament was dealt. Tsang raised on the button with AClub SuitKDiamond SuitQSpade Suit4Club Suit and Gluszko three-bet from the big blind with AHeart SuitJSpade Suit6Diamond Suit5Heart Suit. Tsang shoved and Gluszko called all-in. The board ran out 8Spade Suit6Club Suit3Spade SuitKClub Suit10Club Suit to give TSang the nut flush for the win. Gluszko earned $58,988 as the runner-up finisher.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Anson Tsang $95,461 384
2 Tomasz Gluszko $58,988 320
3 Shawn Stroke $40,232 256
4 Dario Alioto $28,162 192
5 Oswin Ziegelbecker $20,245 160
6 Vivian Saliba $14,959 128
7 Farid Jattin $11,368 96
8 Pavel Izotov $8,893 64
9 Jorryt van Hoof $7,168 32

Photo credits: Tomas Stacha / King’s Resort.