Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Anatolii Zyrin Wins European Poker Tour Sochi National Event

The Russian WSOP Bracelet Winner Defeated A Field of 508 Entries To Win $86,923


The 2020 European Poker Tour Sochi series got underway on October 2 at the Sochi Casino. The kickoff event of the series was the 77,000P ($1,026 USD) buy-in EPT National no-limit hold’em event. The tournament attracted a total of 508 total entries, creating a prize pool equivalent to $440,478 USD. In the end, the lion’s share of that money was awarded to Anatolii Zyrin. The 30-year-old Russian poker pro took home $86,923 USD for the win. Zyrin scored his biggest live circuit victory in 2019 by taking down the $1,500 mixed Omaha event at the World Series of Poker for $199,838 and his first WSOP gold bracelet. Zyrin now has more than $1.5 million in live tournament earnings to his name.

In addition to the trophy and the prize money, Zyrin also earned 840 Card Player Player of the Year points as the champion of this EPT National event. This was his first POY-qualified score, but alone was enough to see him climb into a 14-way tie for 89th place in the 2020 POY race, which is sponsored by Global Poker.

Zyrin came into the final day of this event in second chip position with 10 players remaining. He overtook the lead during five-handed play, and was able to convert that advantage into a victory. Zyrin overcame Almat Idrisov heads-up to secure the title, winning the final hand with pocket tens against Idrisov’s 9-8 suited.

Zyrin has cashed in the EPT Sochi main event each of the past two years. This year’s running of that tournament got underway on Tuesday, Oct. 6 with the first of three starting flights. A champion is set to be decided on Sunday, Oct. 11.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Name Earnings POY Points
1 Anatolii Zyrin $86,923 840
2 Almat Idrisov $54,545 700
3 Yuriy Brechalov $39,039 560
4 Sergey Kharchenko $30,440 420
5 Mikhail Zamyatin $23,878 350
6 Kirill Denisenko $18,755 280
7 Oleg Breshkov $14,005 210
8 Damir Gabdullin $9,701 140
9 Anatoliy Filonenko $7,662 70

Photo credit: Oleg ParaMon / Poker Stars.