Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Bernard Lee Wins His Second WSOP Circuit Ring

Poker Writer, Radio Host Takes Down $400 Buy-in Event At Harveys Lake Tahoe


Bernard Lee burst onto the poker scene in 2005, when he finished 13th in the World Series of Poker main event for $400,000. In the years that have followed he has been involved with the game as a player, growing his lifetime live tournament earnings to more than $2.3 million, and also as a writer and audio host. Lee has previously written columns for Card Player and other news sources, a number of poker books and also hosts the The Bernard Lee Poker Show, on which he has interviewed many of the biggest names in the game.

Lee found himself on the other side of a reporter’s microphone this past weekend after he took down the 2018 World Series of Poker Circuit Harveys Lake Tahoe $400 single-day no-limit hold’em event. Lee defeated a field of 124 entries to win his second WSOPC gold ring, having previously won a $365 buy-in event at the 2014 WSOPC series held at The Lodge Casino in Black Hawk, Colorado.

“The goal was to get a ring. I came here, and I said, ‘I feel like
I’m playing really well right now. Let’s go get this second ring.’ It happened,” Lee told WSOP reporters after coming out on top.

Lee has habitually carried a photo of his two children with him when he plays, setting it next to his chips throughout his run in a tournament. After he took down this title he dedicated the victory to his son.

“The last time I won a ring, I dedicated it to my daughter, Maya” said Lee. “This time, I’ll dedicate this one to my son, Noah.”

Lee earned $11,456 as the winner of the event. Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Bernard Lee $11,456 106
2 Paula Miller $7,082 88
3 Michael Tomaselli $5,112 70
4 Kevin Davis $3,756 53
5 Mark Threadgill $2,808 44
6 Jacob Dahl $2,135 35
7 Paul Zado $1,650 26
8 Joe Mussat $1,296 18
9 Joe Grew $1,035 9

Winner photo provided by WSOP.