Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

CPPT VII - DeepStack Championship Poker Series

$5,000 CPPT Main Event No-Limit Hold'em $2 Million GTD


Barry Hutter Leads 33 Day 1A Survivors

Day 1A of the Card Player Poker Tour Venetian main event is in the books and Barry Hutter is leading the 33 remaining players after nine levels of play. The first of two starting flights ...

Warren Sheaves Wins 2018 World Series of Poker Global Casino Championship

Poker Pro Defeats Field of 127 Entries In Invitational Event To Win His First Gold Bracelet and $282,113


Warren Sheaves has won the 2018 World Series of Poker Global Casino Championship at Harrah’s Cherokee. The North Carolina native overcame a field of 127 entries to win $282,113 and his first WSOP gold bracelet.

The unique and prestigious invitational event sports a $10,000 buy-in, but the majority of the field got into the tournament for free by qualifying throughout the year at various WSOP Circuit stops.

Players have a number of ways to earn their seats into the event, including by winning a WSOP Circuit main event and by finishing in the top 50 of the WSOP Circuit leaderboard. Players who finished in the top 100 of the previous year’s WSOP Player of the Year race, or who won a WSOP Circuit ring event over the past season have the option to buy-in in for $10,000.

This was by far the largest live tournament score of Sheaves’s tournament career, although he does now have seven titles to his name including a win in a $365 buy-in WSOPC event at the Horseshoe in Southern Indiana back in 2013. He now has $634,231 in lifetime live earnings after this win, with none of his previous 82 cashes being for more than $28,160.

Sheaves defeated a number of big names at the final table, including 2009 WSOP $2,500 no-limit hold’em bracelet winner Keven Stammen (3rd – $112,890) and two-time bracelet winner Loni Harwood (5th – $65,067). Harwood won this very event for her second bracelet back in 2015, when it was known as the WSOP National Championship.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD)
1 Warren Sheaves $282,113
2 Jeremy Meacham $174,360
3 Keven Stammen $112,890
4 Armin Stocker $88,643
5 Loni Harwood $65,067
6 Arkadiy Tsinis $48,926
7 Blake Whittington $37,627
8 Kurt Jewell $29,612
9 Stephen Bierman $23,861

Photo courtesy of the WSOP.