Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Dylan Wilkerson Wins 2018 WSOP Circuit Harrah's Cherokee Main Event

Poker Pro Defeats Erick Lindgren Heads-Up To Win $294,152 and His Second Gold Ring


Dylan Wilkerson has won the 2018 World Series of Poker Circuit Harrah’s Cherokee $1,675 no-limit hold’em main event. The 32-year-old poker pro outlasted a field of 1,060 total entries, defeating two-time WSOP bracelet winner Erick Lindgren heads-up to secure his second WSOP Circuit main event title and the $294,152 first-place prize.

The event featured a $1 million guarantee which was easily surpassed, with the huge turnout building a final prize pool of $1,590,000. From the sea of entries, only 19 players made the final day of the event, with Wilkerson sitting in seventh chip position to start the day. He kicked things off by eliminating Mark Scacewater in 18th place and then doubled through Chris Conrad to surge to the top of the leaderboard. Wilkerson set the official final table by eliminating Jonathan Hilton in tenth place, taking the chip lead into the final nine.

Lindgren built his stack while Wilkerson continued rapidly to amass chips. Their heads-up match was set when Wilkerson scored a double elimination with his AHeart SuitQHeart Suit besting Howard Setzer’s 10Heart Suit10Diamond Suit and Daniel Wagner’s KHeart SuitJClub Suit in a three-way all-in pot. The board ran out AClub Suit7Club Suit5Heart Suit4Club SuitKSpade Suit and Wilkerson won the huge pot, taking roughly a 3-to-1 lead into the final showdown.

Erick LindgrenLindgren was able to close the gap and overtake the lead, seizing the momentum early on. Wilkerson then mounted a comeback of his own, doubling up twice to regain the advantage. By the time the final hand was dealt Wilkerson held just shy of a 2-to-1 advantage.

With blinds of 120,000-240,000 with a 40,000 ante Wilkerson raised to 550,000 from the button. Erick Lindgren three-bet to 1,600,000 out of the big blind, only to have Wilkerson move all in. Lindgren quickly called for his last 7,255,000 and revealed the QHeart SuitQDiamond Suit. Wilkerson had been dealt the KDiamond SuitKClub Suit though, and the runout of 108636 kept his kings ahead. With that Lindgren was eliminated in second place, earning $181,864 for his deep run.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Dylan Wilkerson $294,152 960
2 Erick Lindgren $181,864 800
3 Daniel Wagner $135,150 640
4 Howard Setzer $101,601 480
5 Timothy Miles $77,258 400
6 Fikret Kovac $59,434 320
7 Gabe Costner $46,253 240
8 Fred Battle $36,411 160
9 Christopher Meyers $29,002 80