Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Keven Stammen Wins 2018 WSOP Circuit Potawatomi Main Event

Poker Pro Tops 604-Entry Field to Win $190,265 and His First Gold Ring


The World Series of Poker Circuit made its way to the Potawatomi Hotel & Casino in Milwaukee, Wisconsin in February of 2018. The $1,675 buy-in WSOP Circuit Potawatomi no-limit hold’em main event drew 604 total entries to build a $906,000 prize pool, easily surpassing the $750,000 guarantee. In the end, Keven Stammen emerged victorious, earning $190,265 and his first WSOPC gold ring.

Stammen is a 32-year-old poker pro from Coldwater, Ohio. While this was his first win on the WSOP Circuit he did come into this tournament with WSOP hardware to his name. Stammen won a 2009 WSOP $2,500 no-limit hold’em event for $506,786 and a gold bracelet. He also has a World Poker Tour main event title, having won the 2014 WPT World Championship for $1,350,000. With this latest win, Stammen’s lifetime live tournament earnings now exceed $5.4 million.

Stammen had some stiff competition at the final table in the forms of ten-time WSOPC gold ring winner Maurice Hawkins and three-time gold ring winner Andy
Michael Crawford eliminated Philachack in fifth place ($48,045) and Hawkins in fourth place ($63,855) to take the chip lead into three-handed play. Stammen then busted John Reading in third place ($86,052) to close the gap a bit heading into heads-up play.

Stammen made the nut flush against Crawford’s top pair early in the heads-up showdown to take a commanding lead and never looked back. Crawford had to settle for $117,680 as the runner-up finisher.

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Keven Stammen $190,265 840
2 Michael Crawford $117,680 700
3 John Reading $86,052 560
4 Maurice Hawkins $63,855 420
5 Andy Philachack $48,045 350
6 Barry Schmiess $36,648 280
7 Keith Heine $28,340 210
8 Jose Ivan Montes $22,215 140
9 Stephen Nussrallah $17,649 70