Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Ryan Tosoc Wins 2017 World Poker Tour Five Diamond World Poker Classic Main Event

2016 Runner-Up Improves On Last Year's Finish, Defeats Record 812-Entry Field To Win $1,958,065


Ryan Tosoc has won the 2017 World Poker Tour Five Diamond World Poker Classic $10,400 no-limit hold’em main event at the Bellagio in Las Vegas. Tosoc’s win is particularly special because he finished runner-up in this same event in 2016, and somehow managed to return a year later and improve on his previous finish. Tosoc outlasted a field of 812 entries on the way to securing the title, the largest field in this event’s history. Tosoc earned the massive first-place prize of $1,958,065 and added his name to the WPT Champions Cup as a result of emerging victorious in this event.

“It feels unreal,” Tosoc told WPT reporters after it was all over. “I kind of feel like I’m in a dream right now.”

The 27-year-old Tosoc Las Vegas resident has now earned more than $3 million in the WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic over the past two years, having cashed for more than $1.1 million as the second place finisher in 2016.

Tosoc came into the final day of this event in second chip position with six players remaining. He was able to navigate his way to heads-up play with 26-year-old poker pro Alex Foxen, who is having a breakout year on the live tournament circuit.

Tosoc started heads-up play with roughly a 3-to-2 chip advantage over Foxen. The two battled for 49 hands, and in the end it took Tosoc’s QClub Suit10Heart Suit outrunning Foxen’s AHeart Suit10Club Suit for him to secure the title. The board ran out KDiamond Suit9Heart Suit3Diamond SuitJHeart SuitJClub Suit to give Tosoc the straight. Foxen earned $1,134,202 as the runner-up, by far the largest payday of his career.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Ryan Tosoc $1,958,065 2280
2 Alex Foxen $1,134,202 1900
3 Michael Del Vecchio $752,196 1520
4 Sean Perry $504,090 1140
5 Ajay Chabra $350,500 950
6 Richard Kirsch $271,736 760
7 Daniel Zack $208,725 570
8 Lauren Roberts $153,590 380
9 Ray Pulford $107,119 190

Winner photo credit: WPT / Joe Giron.