Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Joseph Di Rosa Rojas Wins 2017 World Series of Poker Marathon Event

Rojas Scores Venezuela's First Ever Gold Bracelet and $690,469


Card Player’s 2017 WSOP coverage is sponsored by BetOnline Poker.

The $2,620 buy-in Marathon event at the 2017 World Series of Poker proved to be a popular addition to the summer series tournament schedule, drawing 1,759 entrants to create a total prize pool of $4,147,722.

This unique tournament was played out over an extended five days. Players received deep starting stacks and benefited from 100-minute levels.

In the end, the $690,469 first-place prize and Venezuela’s first-ever bracelet went to Joseph Di Rosa Rojas, a 34-year-old part-time poker player from Caracas. It was by far the largest score of his career.

Venezuela narrowly missed out on their first win last summer when Dorian Rios finished runner-up in the Monster Stack event.

Rojas topped a final table that included Maurice Hawkins (9th), Faraz Jaka (6th), Tim Reilly (4th), and Alex Lynskey (2nd). Eric Baldwin (21st), John Phan (24th), Ana Marquez (26th) and Upeshka De Silva (30th) had deep runs but came up short of the final table.

Here’s a look at the final table results.

Finish Player Name Payout POY Points
1 Joseph Rojas $690,469 1620
2 Alex Lynskey $426,663 1350
3 Jeffrey Tomlinson $307,728 1080
4 Timothy Reilly $224,316 810
5 Julian Stuer $165,277 675
6 Faraz Jaka $123,105 540
7 Andrew Jernigan $92,705 405
8 Pratik Ghatge $70,590 270
9 Maurice Hawkins $54,356 135

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2017 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.

If you can’t make it down to the WSOP at the Rio, you can still play with BetOnline Poker. Click the banner below for more information. Card Player readers are eligible for an initial deposit bonus offer of 100 percent up to $2,500. Enter code ‘NEWBOL