Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic Main Event Begins This Weekend At The Commerce Casino

The $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em Tournament Runs Feb. 25 - Mar. 2


The Commerce Hotel and Casino is home to the largest poker room in the world, with 160 tables ready for top-flight poker action all day every day. From beginner-friendly low-stakes games to some of the biggest cash games in the world, there is something for everyone at the Commerce.

In addition to its cash game offerings, the Commerce Casino has also built a reputation as a top tournament destination, with a number of series on offer throughout the year. The centerpiece of their yearly tournament slate is the legendary L.A. Poker Classic festival, which this year features 56 events spread from Jan. 15th through Mar. 3rd.

The highlight of the whole festival is, of course, the World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic $10,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event, which kicks off at noon on Saturday, Feb. 25. As in previous years, players will start with 30,000 in chips with blinds beginning at 50 – 100.

Registration will stay open until the start of the 10th level, with the tournament played nine-handed. The first eight levels will last 60 minutes, increasing to 90 minutes each level on days 2 and 3. On days 4 and 5 levels will last 120 minutes until a final table of six is decided. Redraws will happen at the end of each day and also when the field reaches the following milestones: 27 remaining, 18 remaining, and 10 players remaining.

Players who want to get into the main event at a discounted price still have time to win their seat this weekend with six more scheduled mega satellites. The $1,100 buy-in satellites guarantee a total of 50 main event tickets and run Thursday at 8 p.m., Friday at noon, 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. and Saturday at 4 p.m. and 8 p.m.

This will be the 15th running of the WPT LAPC main event, with this event being one of the original tournaments on the World Poker Tour. Over the years some of poker’s biggest names have emerged as LAPC champions, including 2003 champion Gus Hansen ($532,490), 2004 champ Antonio Esfandiari ($1,399,135), 2005 champ Michael Mizrachi ($1,859,909), 2008 champ Phil Ivey ($1,596,100), 2014 winner Chris Moorman ($1,015,460) and 2015 champ Anthony Zinno ($1,015,860).

Last year Dietrich Fast defeated a field of 515 players en route to his first WPT title and the first-place prize of $1,000,800.