Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments Daily Fantasy Sports Poker Stories Podcast U.S. Poker Markets

Dietrich Fast Wins 2016 World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic Main Event

German Poker Pro Tops Field of 515 To Win $1,000,080


German poker pro Dietrich Fast has won the 2016 World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic $10,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event, defeating a field of 515 players en route to his first WPT title and the first-place prize of $1,000,800.

Fast also scored 2,100 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win. This was his second final table of 2016 and a large enough score to catapult him into third place in the overall POY standings.

Fast entered the six-handed final table in fifth chip position, but was able to outlast the likes of Anthony Spinella (6th – $191,250), Farid jattin (5th – $238,070), Sam Soverel (4th – $316,440) and Alex Keating (3rd – $423,890) in order to set up a final showdown with Mike Shariati.

Fast began with more than a 3-to-1 chip advantage over Shariati, who was looking for his second WPT title of the season after having won the WPT Legends of Poker main event at The Bicycle Casino last fall. The two players battled it out for 55 hands, but in the end Shariati just could not overcame Fast’s lead.

The final hand saw Fast raise to 450,000 from the button with blinds of 100,000 – 200,000 with an ante of 25,000. Shariati moved all in for 4,850,000 total and Fast made the call with the AClub Suit9Heart Suit, which was dominating Shariati’s ADiamond Suit8Diamond Suit.

The flop brought the ASpade SuitJSpade Suit4Club Suit to keep Fast in the lead, but the 8Club Suit gave Shariati two pair and the lead. The JHeart Suit on the river counterfeited Shariati’s two pair, securing the pot and the title for Fast and sending Shariati to the rail in second place with $656,540 and 1,750 POY points. He moved inside the top ten in the Player of the Year rankings as a result.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Dietrich Fast $1,000,800 2100
2 Mike Shariati $656,540 1750
3 Alex Keating $423,890 1400
4 Sam Soverel $316,440 1050
5 Farid Jattin $238,070 875
6 Anthony Spinella $191,250 700
7 John Hennigan $160,190 525
8 Binh Nguyen $127,660 350
9 Tyler Reiman $96,120 175

Winner photo courtesy of World Poker Tour / Joe Giron.