Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Clayton Maguire Wins 2016 World Series of Poker $1,000 Online Event

Maguire Banks $210,279 First-Place Prize and First Gold Bracelet


For the second year in a row, the World Series of Poker held a $1,000 online bracelet event, and with a field of 1,247, the 2016 edition blew away the 905-player field from last summer.

The two-day event started online, with the final six players pausing play to head to the Rio for the live final table. The eventual winner was cash-game grinder Clayton Maguire, who earned his first gold bracelet and the $210,279 first-place prize.

This was the Brighton, Colorado native’s best finish at the WSOP, after previously taking home $186,388 for 44th place in the 2014 main event. He now has $1.06 million in career live tournament earnings.

“I am really happy to win the gold bracelet,” said Maguire. “It’s mostly about the money. But this is a feather in the cap. It was fun to play in a big online tournament. I used to play a lot online before Black Friday. I don’t get to play this high very often anymore.”

Maguire endured a back-and-forth heads-up battle with bracelet winner Simeon Naydenov before finally securing the victory. Other notables at the final table included Justin Gardenhire (8th) and Thiago Nishijima (9th).

Other recognizable faces to cash in the online tournament included John Kim (10th), James Carroll (12th), Jake Toole (13th), Billy Baxter (15th), Dan Kelly (18th), Chris Hunichen (29th), Ben Zamani (30th), Ryan Welch (34th), Amanda Musumeci (51st), Alex Keating (68th), Todd Brunson (70th), Bryan Piccioli (79th), Shannon Shorr (82nd), Sam Greenwood (85th), Mohsin Charania (96th), Matt Affleck (98th), Justin Young (104th), Greg Merson (105th), Philip Collins (108th), Brian Hastings (116th), Kevin Eyster (120th), Noah Bronstein (123rd), Roland Israelashvili (129th) and James Obst (143rd).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded in this event:

Finish Player Payout POY Points
1 Clayton Maguire $210,279 960
2 Simeon Naydenov $150,569 800
3 Marc Perrault $110,172 640
4 Spencer Taylor $82,926 480
5 Richard Tuhrim $59,233 400
6 Park-Yu Cheung $46,201 320
7 Harvey Doncev $34,355 240
8 Justin Gardenhire $22,508 160
9 Thiago Nishijima $14,216 80

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2016 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.

Winner photo courtesy of the WSOP.