Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Tony Dunst Wins 2016 World Series of Poker $1,000 No-Limit Hold'em Event

World Poker Tour Analyst Wins His First Gold Bracelet and $339,254


Tony Dunst has won his first gold bracelet, topping a field of 2,452 players to win the 2016 World Series of Poker $1,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em event. For the win the 31-year-old poker pro earned $339,254 and 1,080 Card Player Player of the Year points, enough to see him climb to fourth place in the POY standings.

Dunst is both a poker professional and an analyst on the World Poker Tour’s television broadcast, hosting final table live streams from the tour as well as a segment called the “Raw Deal” in which he critiques hands. All of the practice examining key plays at final tables must have been useful to Dunst in converting the win in this event for his first WSOP title.

Dunst came into the final day of this tournament in fourth chip position with 25 players remaining. Dunst had plenty of tough competition to deal with on day 3, including Faraz Jaka (17th – $13,684), Steven Wolanksy (13th – $17,224) and Joshua Field (3rd – $153,015).

With Field’s elimination in third place the final heads-up battle between Dunst and Jason Rivkin was set, with Dunst holding nearly a 2-to-1 lead. The two battled for 104 hands. By the time the final hand arose Dunst held a sizable advantage in chips. With blinds at 60,000 – 120,000 with an ante of 15,000 Dunst moved all in from the button for Rivkins final 2 million or so in chips. Rivkin made the call with the KSpade Suit10Diamond Suit and was in the lead agaisnt Dunst’s QSpade Suit8Diamond Suit.

The board ran out QClub Suit8Club Suit7Heart Suit9Diamond Suit10Club Suit to give Dunst two pair, earning him the pot and the title. Rivkin was awarded $209,596 for his deep run.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Tony Dunst $339,254 1080
2 Jason Rivkin $209,596 900
3 Joshua Field $153,015 720
4 Francisco Araujo $112,724 540
5 Matas Cimbolas $83,804 450
6 Sergio Cabrera $62,880 360
7 Levon Torosyan $47,622 270
8 Raffaele Castro $36,406 180
9 David Sciacqua $28,097 90

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2016 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.