Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments Daily Fantasy Sports Poker Stories Podcast U.S. Poker Markets

Harrison Gimbel Wins 2016 WPT Rolling Thunder Main Event

Floridian Poker Pro Denies Mohsin Charania Third WPT Title, Wins $275,112


Harrison Gimbel has won the 2016 World Poker Tour Rolling Thunder $3,500 no-limit hold’em main event, topping a field of 409 players to win his first WPT title and the top prize of $275,112.

Gimbel also earned 1,080 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win. This was his third final table of the year, and as a result he now sits in 20th place in the POY race.

The 25-year-old Floridian poker pro had finished fourth in this very same event last year and had returned hoping to improve on that great result. Gimbel wasn’t the only player with an exciting narrative at the final table, though. Two-time World Poker Tour main event champion Mohsin Charania was looking to make history by becoming only the fourth player ever to win three WPT titles.

Charania came tantalizingly close to achieving that goal, as he survived to heads-up play against Gimbel. The two began their final battle with nearly identical chip stacks, with Charania sitting with 103 big blinds to Gimbel’s 102. Both players were quite deep stacked, and as a result they battled for 114 hands before a winner was finally decided.

By the time the final hand arose Gimbel had built a solid chip lead. With blinds of 100,000 – 200,000 and an ante of 25,000 Charania limped in from the button. Gimbel moved all-in holding the 5Heart Suit4Heart Suitand Charania made the call with the KHeart SuitQHeart Suit.

The board ran out JSpade Suit3Spade Suit2Heart Suit5Diamond Suit5Spade Suit the give Gimbel running trips and the pot. With that Charania was eliminated in second place, earning $192,132 and falling just short of his third WPT title.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Harrison Gimbel $275,112 1080
2 Mohsin Charania $192,132 900
3 Russell Garrett $123,682 720
4 Markus Gonsalves $91,616 540
5 Hafiz Khan $68,712 450
6 Derek Wolters $54,970 360
7 Matthew Mcewan $45,808 270
8 Ankush Mandavia $36,646 180
9 Moon Kim $27,485 90

Winner photo courtesy of World Poker Tour / Joe Giron.