Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

2014 CarbonPoker Card Player Player of the Year Update -- Vanessa Selbst Climbs To 10th Place

WSOP Gets Underway, Is Sure To Shake Things Up In The POY Race


The big dance is finally here, and after just a few days the World Series of Poker has already made it’s impact felt on the 2014 Card Player Player of the Year race, sponsored by CarbonPoker. Here is a look at the events that most influenced the overall standings over the past seven days:

WSOP Event 2: $25,000 mixed-max no-limit hold’em

Vanessa SelbstVanessa Selbst was already the highest earning female tournament player but some margin, but now she has also taken the lead in yet another category: World Series of Poker gold bracelets. The 29-year-old pro topped a field of 131 players in the 2014 WSOP $25,000 buy-in mixed-max no-limit hold’em, defeating Jason Mo heads-up to earn the $871,148 first-place prize and her third gold bracelet.

Selbst is the first female ever to win three open events (Barbara Enright has also won three, but two came in segregated women’s events.) Only 63 players have ever won three or more bracelets.

As a result of the win Selbst’s live tournament earnings grew to more than $10.5 million, moving her into 19th place on the all-time live tournament money list.

In addition to the title and the money Selbst also earned 924 Player of the Year points. This was her third POY-qualified final table appearance of the year, getting 2014 off to a strong start by finishing third in both the $100,000 super high roller and the $25,000 high roller at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure in January. As a result of these three scores Selbst now sits in 10th place in the overall POY standings, with 2,276 points and $2,239,368 in year-to-date earnings.

WSOP Event 7: $1,500 Millionaire Maker No-Limit Hold’em

Jonathan DimmigAlthough originally scheduled as a three-day event, it took all of four to crown a champion in the 2014 World Series of Poker Millionaire Maker event. New York native Jonathan Dimmig made the most of his first ever WSOP cash, banking $1,319,587 for defeating 7,977 players, the second largest live field in poker tournament history.

Dimmig, whose previous best score was for $11,106 in a WSOP Circuit event,
became the first player at this summer’s series to score a seven-figure payday. In addition to the money and the bracelet he also scored 1,320 POY points, and on the power of this win alone he was catapulted into 43rd place in the POY rankings.

A total of 819 players made the money, collecting at least $2,692. The top 12 players all earned at least six-figure paydays. Notables who made deep runs included Jeff Sluzinski (26th), Curt Kohlberg (29th), Brian Yoon (30th), Andrew Seidman (31st), John Racener (42nd), Ted Lawson (53rd), Dwyte Pilgrim (73rd) and Matt Salsberg (81st).

WSOP Event 10: $10,000 Omaha Eight-or-Better

Brock ParkerBrock Parker continued the developing trend of players with multiple bracelets coming back for more at the 2014 World Series of Poker, topping a field of 178 players to win the $10,000 Omaha eight-or-better championship to earn the $443,407 first-place prize and his third gold bracelet, having won two hold’em six-max events in 2009.

In addition to the title, the hardware and the money Parker also earned 780 POY points. This was the second final table appearance for the 32-year-old poker pro from Silver Spring, Maryland. He finished fifth in the $1,500 Razz event just days earlier, hopping into this event after hitting the rail at the final table. As a result he now sits in 85th place in the overall standings with 1,030 points.

Here is a look at the current top 20 in the 2014 POY rankings:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Mustapha Kanit 3,364 $988,835
2 Dominik Panka 3,315 $1,840,936
3 Mike McDonald 3,312 $4,357,089
4 Keven Stammen 3,052 $1,610,129
5 Dylan Wilkerson 2,520 $934,575
6 Mukul Pahuja 2,514 $1,060,582
7 Eugene Katchalov 2,480 $725,061
8 Ami Barer 2,430 $1,493,335
9 James Carroll 2,372 $1,324,754
10 Vanessa Selbst 2,276 $2,239,368
11 Sorel Mizzi 2,170 $1,045,207
12 Chris Moorman 2,100 $1,015,460
12 Antonio Buonanno 2,100 $1,715,439
14 Jack Salter 2,038 $1,158,521
15 Byron Kaverman 2,025 $1,229,636
16 Eric Blair 1,982 $324,303
17 Oleksii Khoroshenin 1,864 $801,740
18 Sotirios Koutoupas 1,848 $866,592
19 J.C. Tran 1,836 $612,830
20 Farid Jattin 1,788 $381,727