Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Series Of Poker -- Taylor Paur Wins $1,000 Buy-In No-Limit Hold'em Event

Former Card Player Online Player of the Year Wins $340,260 For First Gold Bracelet


Taylor PaurTaylor Paur, a 24-year-old professional poker player from El Dorado Hills, California, took home his first gold bracelet and $340,260 after winning event no. 18 at the World Series of Poker, a $1,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em event.

Paur started the final table as a chip leader and after coasting much of the final day he was looking for a different technique to take down Roy Weiss who finished runner up. He discussed strategy at dinner with poker pal Paul Volpe, who is currently first in Card Player’s Player of the Year competition.

It seemed Weiss might have asked for tips from someone as well because when the tournament started back up after the break he began open-shoving every hand.

“I think that was their strategy. I don’t think he just randomly decided that. I think someone told him to do it that way,” Paur said.

However, Paur stayed patient because the blinds were so big.

“I knew he was shoving with anything. I just wanted something good. I made the call with ace-five,” he said.

Paur was Card Player’s 2010 Online Player of the Year and has over $1.8 million in online winnings and $1,177,390 in casino winnings.

Phil Ivey, a nine-time bracelet holder had his chance to win his first bracelet in a no-limit hold’em WSOP event but fell short finishing in 14th place for $15,544.

Here’s a look at the final table results.

Finish Player Name Prize POY Points
1 Taylor Paur $340,260 1,080
2 Roy Weiss $211,794 900
3 Tai Nguyen $147,220 720
4 Alexander Barlow $106,027 540
5 DJ Mackinnon $77,491 450
6 Phillip Hui $57,324 360
7 Daniel Idema $42,962 270
8 Ryan Austin $32,608 180
9 Kyle Cartwright $25,041 90

For complete coverage of the summer poker festival, check out our WSOP landing page.

Photo Credit: WSOP/ Joe Giron