Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments Daily Fantasy Sports Poker Stories Podcast U.S. Poker Markets

Steve O'Dwyer Wins World Poker Tour National Series Denmark

American Poker Pro Takes No Prisoners In Denmark


Only a matter of days after his seventh-place finish at the European Poker Tour Copenhagen, Steve O’Dwyer has definitely found his groove in Denmark as he has taken down the World Poker Tour National Series event in Vejle, Denmark for a tidy sum of 893,960 DKK (€120,247/ $157,939).

The €1500 + €150 buy-in main event attracted a total of 289 players and by the time the final table surfaced, all who had survived bar O’Dwyer were Danish. O’Dwyer may have been the only foreigner at the table but he had all the chips with 2.6 million heading into the final. Martin Tonnesen was second in chips, trailing behind O’Dwyer, with 1.5 million.

The American was in the lead and determined to stay there, and proceeded to slay his way through the final table, player by player. He then entered the heads up with a 4-1 chip advantage and it looked like Tonnesen would be soon joining the rest of the finalists on the other side of the rail.

However, the Dane stood his crowd and battled his way back into contention, holding a 3-1 lead over O’Dwyer. Tonnesen then made the mistake of attempting to Bluff O’Dwyer and it was a case of bad timing as the American hit runner-runner for the second nut flush and wasn’t going anywhere. This dashed Tonnesen’s dreams and the rest of his stack went in with A-9 versus O’Dwyer’s pocket tens. The tens stayed ahead and O’Dwyer took the title, the cash, and the National Series ring and 456 Card Player Player of the Year points. As a result, O’Dwyer has moved into 63rd place in the overall standings. His worthy adversary Tonnesen left with DKK 490,140 (€65,931).

Here are the payouts and Player of the Year points that were awarded at the final table:

1. Steve O’Dwyer – €120,247 (456 POY points)
2. Martin Tonnesen – €65,931 (380 POY points)
3. Claus Uhrskov – €45,729 (304 POY points)
4. Jan V. Sorensen – €30,269 (228 POY points)
5. Justin Lund – €23,635 (190 POY points)
6. Kenneth Laursen – €18,660 (152 POY points)