Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

European Poker Tour Award Winners Announced

Fernando Brito Takes Top Honour As EPT Player Of The Year 2011


Fernando BritoFernando Brito from Portugal is the European Poker Tour Player of the Year after picking up the gong last night at Pacha nightclub, Madrid during the EPT Grand Final final table.

The 52-year-old businessman topped the POY table after scoring:

6th – EPT London main event
1st – four €1,000 NL Turbo Random Bounty events
2nd – one €1,000 NL Turbo Random Bounty events
1st – back-to-back €10,000 buy in events
5th – €10,000 buy in San Remo
37th – EPT Madrid Grand Final

He said upon receiving his award, “We can only sing victory when it’s achieved, so I didn’t believe I had won until yesterday when I cashed in the Grand Final Main Event. I am very thankful to my family and friends – I couldn’t have done this without them. Now I’m going to try to do it again next season!”

The other award winners on the night were:

EPT Omaha Player of the Year: Dario Alioto
EPT Mixed Game Player of the Year: Matthew Ashton
EPT Heads-Up Player of the Year: Diogo Veiga
EPT Country of the Year: Ireland
EPT Online Qualifier of the Year: Martin Jacobson
EPT Achievement of the Year: Max Heinzelmann
EPT Players’ Choice Award: Max Heinzelmann