Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Poker Tour -- World Championship Begins on Saturday

Card Player and Card Player TV will be at Bellagio to bring you Feature Content from the $25,000 Main Event


David Williams Wins the 2010 WPT World ChampionshipThe crown jewel of Season IX on the World Poker Tour begins on Saturday at Bellagio in Las Vegas. The WPT World Poker Championship $25,000 no-limit hold’em main event will begin at noon on Saturday, May 14 and it will crown a champion on Friday, May 20. Card Player and Card Player TV will be at Bellagio during the event to bring you feature content and recaps daily from the tournament floor.

Players will begin with 100,000 in chips in the main event and levels will be 60-minutes long. Players can buy in through the first eight levels of the main event. Last year David Williams topped a field of 195 players last year to take home the top prize worth $1,530,537. Here is a look at the schedule for the main event:

NOTE: All tournament days begin at noon, except for the final table, which begins at 4 p.m.

Saturday, May 14: Day 1
Sunday, May 15: Day 2
Monday, May 16: Day 3
Tuesday, May 17: Day 4
Wednesday, May 18: Day 5
Thursday, May 19: Day 6
Friday, May 20: Final Table

There is also a $100,000 super high roller event that will run on May 18 and 19. The tournament starts at noon and players can enter for the first six levels. Players will begin with 400,000 in chips and levels will be 60 minutes long. The $25,000 main event and $100,000 super high roller tournament are just two of the 21 events that have been hosted at Bellagio in May, and you can check out the results for those preliminary events on the tournament series landing page.

2010 WPT World Championship:

Buy-in: $25,000
Number of Entries: 195
Total Prize Pool: $4,728,750
First-Place Prize: $1,530,537
Places Paid: 18

Final-Table Results:

1: David Williams — $1,530,537
2: Eric Baldwin — $1,034,715
3: Shawn Buchanan — $587,906
4: David Benyamine — $329,228
5: Billy Baxter — $246,921
6: John O’Shea — $199,888

Former WPT World Champion Winners:

2010: David Williams
2009: Yevgeniy Timoshenko
2008: David Chiu
2007: Carlos Mortensen
2006: Joe Bartholdi
2005: Tuan Le
2004: Martin De Knijff
2003: Alan Goehring