Poker Coverage:

Vanessa Rousso, Antonio Esfandiari and John Racener Headline WPT Doyle Brunson World Poker Classic Final Table

Rousso Takes Big Chip Lead Into Televised Final Table


Check out the live updates now!

Vanessa RoussoIt’s been awhile since we’ve seen a World Poker Tour final table as stacked as the one set to kick off at 4 p.m. Wednesday.

One year, actually.

The Doyle Brunson World Poker Classic has a history of producing some of the most prolific final table lineups in poker and the 2010 edition is no different. Take a look for yourself.

Antonio EsfandiariSeat 1 — Antonio Esfandiari — 2,105,000
Seat 2 — Vanessa Rousso — 5,830,000
Seat 3 — Ted Lawson — 635,000
Seat 4 — John Racener — 3,235,000
Seat 5 — Kirk Morrison — 2,650,000
Seat 6 — Andrew Robl — 3,210,000

Going into the final table as the chip leader, Vanessa Rousso is in good shape to take down her first WPT title and the first-place prize of $870,124.

Rousso entered the penultimate day near the bottom of the leaderboard, but doubled through chip leader Antonio Esfandiari early on to set the tone for a great day of poker.

John RacenerSpeaking of Esfandiari, the former WPT champion rebounded nicely from that early misstep to make the final table himself. After securing his spot, Esfandiari turned to his tablemates and exclaimed, “Well, it took seven years, but I’m back!”

If that wasn’t enough star power for you, look no further than John Racener, recent World Series of Poker main event runner up. Racener will enter the final table as the second biggest stack, but has already made it clear that he feels this final table will be tougher than the one he face at the Rio last month.

Ted LawsonLong-time tournament grinder Ted Lawson had a tall order in front of him as he entered the play down day as one the short stacks. He managed to hold on and squeeze into the televised final table, but he will have to do battle with just 10 big blinds.

Kirk MorrisonIf you are still looking for weak links in the line up you won’t find them. Heading into the final table in third place is high-stakes cash game regular Andrew Robl, who managed a couple double ups near the end of the day to put himself back into contention.

Kirk Morrison sits in fourth place and although it’s been awhile since he’s traveled the tour, he’s clearly returned in a big way. Morrison returned to action briefly this summer at the WSOP after a nearly three year hiatus. His biggest score to date came in 2007 for over $2 million, also at a WPT final table at the Bellagio.

Andrew RoblAmazingly, the list of casualties that hit the rail during day 5 is almost as impressive as the six finalists themselves. Notables who were eliminated during play included Amit Makhija, Chris DeMaci, Jose Luis Velador, Ray Dehkharghani, Andrew Lichtenberger and Card Player Player of the Year contender Sorel Mizzi. Kia Mohajeri, the man who bubbled the final table, finished runner-up at a WPT event earlier this year at the Borgata in Atlantic City.

Take a look at some of the other WPT Doyle Brunson World Poker Classic final tables from the past.

Season Players
1 Gus Hansen
John Juanda
Freddy Deeb
John Hennigan
Chris Bigler
Scotty Nguyen
2 Paul Phillips
Dewey Tomko
Gus Hansen
Abe Mosseri
Mel Judah
3 Daniel Negreanu
Humberto Brenes
Jennifer Harman
Nam Le
4 Patrik Antonius
Doyle Brunson
J.J. Liu
Darrell Dicken
Phil Laak
5 Joe Hachem
Daniel Negreanu
Mads Andersen
David Redlin
6 Eugene Katchalov
David Ulliott
Jordan Rich
Ryan Daut
7 Chino Rheem
Justin Young
Evan McNiff
Steve Sung
Amnon Filippi
Hoyt Corkins
8 Daniel Alaei
Josh Arieh
Faraz Jaka
Shawn Buchanan
Scotty Nguyen
Steve O’Dwyer