Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Online Poker -- Taylor 'ambiguosity' Paur Leads OPOY Race

PokerStars Spring Championship of Online Poker Shakes Up Top 10 Standings


Taylor PaurThe PokerStars Spring Championship of Online Poker (SCOOP) is officially over and we are getting closer and closer to the time when online poker takes a back seat to the World Series of Poker in Las Vegas. But before we lock ourselves away into seclusion at the Rio, let’s take a look at the current Online Player of the Year standings.

For all of the damage that the SCOOP did to the current top 10, none of it had to do with current leader Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur (pictured left) and his rise to the top spot. Paur got there by winning the FTOPS XVI event No. 29 for $192,228 and then following that up with a win in the $125,000 Guarantee. Despite zero SCOOP OPOY-qualifying cashes, Paur has racked up an impressive $763,214 in winnings this year.

Just squeaking into the second place spot is Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek, who has put together a pair of Absolute Poker final tables to surpass Corey “Comander_Cool” Burbick.

Steve GrossBurbick had a strong SCOOP series, winning event No. 3 for $183,060 and following that up with a win in the Sunday 500 for an additional $91,132.

Very quietly, Steve “gboro780” Gross (pictured right) put together a solid SCOOP campaign, cashing 11 times for $150,653. His biggest score came in event No. 22, wherein he finished third for $67,200.

The rest of the top ten is rounded out by Raj “BadcardsAA” Vohra (fifth), kirbynator (sixth), Mickey “Mement_mori” Petersen (seventh), Nicolas “PKaiser” Fierro (eighth), Alex “ags104” Santiago (ninth) and Adam “squee451” Sherman (10th).

Take a look at the standings below.

Rank Player Name OPOY Points 2010 Winnings
1st Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur 6,684 $763,214
2nd Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek 5,984 $475,520
3rd Corey “Comandr_Cool” Burbick 5,960 $657,002
4th Steve “gboro780” Gross 5,640 $649,420
5th Raj “BadcardsAA” Vohra 5,524 $959,119
6th kirbynator 4,700 $594,183
7th Mickey “Mement_mori” Petersen 4,552 $524,573
8th Nicolas “PKaiser” Fierro 4,454 $497,236
9th Alex “ags104” Santiago 4,366 $660,871
10th Adam “squee451” Sherman 4,300 $660,871