Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Poker Tour -- Grand Prix de Paris Begins Saturday

The WPT Returns to Paris for the First Time Since 2005


David BenyamineThe World Poker Tour Grand Prix de Paris €10,000 no-limit hold’em championship event begins on Saturday, May 8 at the Aviation Club de France in Paris. The championship event is a part of the Rendez-vous a Paris tournament series that is hosted annually by the casino, which is located on the legendary Champs-Elysees in the French capital.

This marks the return of this event to the WPT schedule after five years. It last took place during season IV in 2005. Previous champions of this event include David Benyamine (pictured right), Surinder Sunar, and Roland de Wolfe.

The championship event will be capped at 400 players. There will be two day-one flights for the event and a champion will be crowned on Thursday, May 13. Players will begin with 30,000 in chips. Blinds begin at 50-100 and levels will be 60 minutes long. Once the final table is reached on Wednesday, May 12 there will be a two-day break in the championship event before the final table on Saturday, May 15. Here is a look at the full schedule for the championship event:

NOTE: All days in the championship event begin at 3 p.m. local time.

Saturday, May 8: Day 1A (play seven levels)
Sunday, May 9: Day 1B (play seven levels)
Monday, May 10: Day 2 (play six levels)
Tuesday, May 11: Day 3 (play six levels)
Wednesday, May 12: Day 4 (play down to six players)
Saturday, May 15: Final Table

There will also be a €20,000 high roller no-limit hold’em event that begins Friday, May 14. The high roller event is scheduled for three days and a champion will be crowned on Sunday, May 16. Check back at the conclusion of each of these final tables for a recap of each tournament.

Previous WPT Grand Prix de Paris Champions:

2003: David Benyamine — $410,886 (96 entries)
2004: Surinder Sunar — $849,825 (205 entries)
2005: Roland de Wolfe — $600,898 (160 entries)