Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Wynn Poker Classic -- Championship Event Begins March 15

The $5,000 No-Limit Hold’em Main Event is the 17th Event at the Tournament Series


Justin YoungThe Wynn Classic has been running at the Wynn Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas since Feb. 25 and a dozen events have crowned champions so far (see below). The tournament series will reach its finale when play begins in the $5,000 no-limit hold’em championship event on Monday, Mar. 15 at noon PDT. The tournament is scheduled to play for three days and a winner will be crowned on Wednesday, Mar. 17.

Satellites for the no-limit hold’em championship will take place on Sunday, Mar. 14 at the Wynn poker room. There will be a $545 satellite at noon and another at 7 p.m. that evening. Players will begin with 25,000 in the championship event and blinds begin at 25-50. Levels will be 90 minutes long and there will be a 15-minute break after each level. Day 1 will play for six levels and there will be a dinner break after level 3. Day 2 will continue until a final table of 10 players remain, and then those final tablists will return to decide a winner on day 3 of the event.

Preliminary highlights include wins by notable professionals Justin Young (pictured right) and Chris Bjorin. Young topped a field of 135 players in the $500 H.O.R.S.E. event to capture the top prize worth $21,605, and Bjorin defeated 123 opponents to win $41,195 in a $1,000 no-limit hold’em event. A trio of notable players have scored runner-up finishes at the Wynn. They include Scott Clements ($23,527 for runner-up finish in event No. 7), Bryan Devonshire ($32,951 for runner-up finish in event No. 8), and Frankie O’Dell who finished behind Young in the H.O.R.S.E. event and took home $14,405. The largest preliminary event in terms of entrants was the initial $500 no-limit hold’em preliminary, which attracted 323 players. The largest prize pool was up for grabs in the $1,500 no-limit hold’em event, which awarded $59,032 for first place from the total prize pool worth $173,145.

2010 Wynn Classic Results and Remaining Schedule:

Event No. 1 ($500 no-limit hold’em): Erik Nomberg — $48,563 (323 entries)
Event No. 2 ($1,000 no-limit hold’em): Alexey Golodyaev — $35,947 (109 entries)
Event No. 3 ($1,000 no-limit hold’em): Robert McCormack — $22,405 (66 entries)
Event No. 4 ($500 no-limit hold’em): Temperance Hutter — $23,152 (154 entries)
Event No. 5 ($500 no-limit hold’em): Keith Ferrera — $23,606 (157 entries)
Event No. 6 ($500 limit Omaha 8OB): Kostas Kalathakis — $20,432 (123 entries)
Event No. 7 ($500 no-limit hold’em): Tim Cohen — $34,733 (231 entries)
Event No. 8 ($1,000 no-limit hold’em): Scott Ziebarth — $47,508 (158 entries)
Event No. 9 ($1,500 no-limit hold’em): Jonathan Patrick — $59,302 (119 entries)
Event No. 10 ($1,000 six-handed no-limit hold’em): Gary Haglund — $30,894 (91 entries)
Event No. 11 ($500 H.O.R.S.E.): Justin Young — $14,405 (135 entries)
Event No. 12 ($1,000 no-limit hold’em): Chris Bjorin — $41,195 (124 entries)
Wednesday, Mar. 10: Event No. 13 ($500 Omaha 8OB)
Thursday, Mar. 11: Event No. 14 ($1,000 no-limit hold’em)
Friday, Mar. 12: Event No. 15 ($2,000 no-limit hold’em)
Saturday, Mar. 13: Event No. 16 ($2,000 no-limit hold’em)
Monday, Mar. 15: Event No. 17 ($5,000 no-limit hold’em)



almost 12 years ago

Kostas Kalathakis!