Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

L.A. Poker Classic -- Preliminary Update Part III

Highlight During Final Week of Preliminaries was a Chris Moore vs. Vivek Rajkumar Rematch for the $10,000 Heads-Up Championship


Al BarbieriThe L.A. Poker Classic is coming to a close this week, and 48 of the 50 events have crowned a winner at this massive tournament series at Commerce Casino. The World Poker Tour $10,000 no-limit hold’em championship and WPT Celebrity Invitational will both conclude during the next two days, bringing an end to a successful tournament series that awarded millions of dollars to thousands of players. Here is one final look at the preliminary results from the L.A. Poker Classic.

The highlights from this week included an impressive rematch, wins by many professionals, and a third tournament win by the most consistent player of the tournament series. Al Barbieri (pictured left) won the $2,000 no-limit hold’em Ironman event and captured his third tournament title at the 2010 L.A. Poker Classic. Barbieri was awarded $59,030 for the victory, which brought his total winnings for the series up to $136,100 spread out over five cashes.

Other notable professionals who won preliminary events during the final week of play at the L.A. Poker Classic included Jonathan Aguiar, Ryan Hughes, Matt Brady, Owen Crowe, Chris Moore, and Scott Seiver. The biggest prize was awarded to Seiver ($25,300) for his win in the $25,000 high no-limit hold’em event, but the most impressive win was captured by Moore.

He made the final of the $10,000 heads-up no-limit hold’em championship for a second year in a row where he faced the same opponent (Vivek Rajkumar) as one year ago in the finals. This time around, Moore beat Rajkumar to win the top prize worth $147,200, and their heads-up final gave everyone in the room a feeling of déjà vu as they battled for the heads-up crown.

Here are the recent preliminary results from the L.A. Poker Classic:

Event No. 33 ($300 no-limit hold’em): Kyle Keranen — $24,844 (298 entries)
Event No. 34 ($1,000 eight-game mix): Jonathan Aguiar — $34,800 (106 entries)
Event No. 35 ($1,000 H.O.R.S.E.): Daniel Adelson — $31,890 (94 entries)
Event No. 36 ($1,500 Chinese poker): Greg DeBora — $30,225 (57 entries)
Event No. 37 ($1,000 no-limit hold’em): Ryan Hughes — $52,590 (175 entries)
Event No. 38 ($10,000 H.O.R.S.E. championship): Javid Javani — $129,000 (28 entries)
Event No. 39 ($300 no-limit hold’em shootout): Evgeny Shnayder — $30,000 (450 entries)
Event No. 40 ($1,000 six-handed pot-limit Omaha w/rebuys): Travis Pearson — $30,000 (40 entries – 55 rebuys – 27 add-ons)
Event No. 41 (WPT Celebrity Invitational): TBD on Mar. 3
Event No. 42 ($2,000 Ironman no-limit hold’em): Al Barbieri — $59,030 (64 entries)
Event No. 43 ($300 no-limit hold’em): David Burrows — $60,080 (870 entries)
Event No. 44 ($3,000 six-handed no-limit hold’em): Matt Brady — $115,430 (116 entries)
Event No. 45 ($1,000 no-limit hold’em): Owen Crowe — $73,100 (260 entries)
Event No. 46 ($10,000 heads-up no-limit hold’em championship): Chris Moore — $147,200 (39 entries)
Event No. 47 ($500 no-limit hold’em shootout): Farrell Hinkle — $33,040 (240 entries)
Event No. 48 ($1,500 no-limit hold’em): Barry Woods — $71,720 (154 entries)
Event No. 49 ($10,000 WPT no-limit hold’em championship) – In Progress
Event No. 50 ($25,000 no-limit hold’em high roller): Scott Seiver — $425,330 (41 entries)

L.A. Poker Classic Preliminary Update I
L.A. Poker Classic Preliminary Update II