Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

David Benyamine Wins Premier League Poker IV

David Benyamine Beats Luke Schwartz To Win PartyPoker Premier League IV


David BenyamineFrenchman David Benyamine has won the PartyPoker Premier League IV title at the M Resort Spa Casino in Las Vegas beating UK young gun Luke “FullFlush1” Schwartz heads up to take down $476,000.

Schwartz was a significant chip favourite going into the heads up battle with 1.32 million compared to Benyamine’s 520,000 but an early double up with K-10 against K-7 saw Benyamine take the lead.

The final hand saw Benyamine again get the better of Schwartz who eventually pushed on a Q-5-3 board with Q-2 but the Frenchman called with Q-10 and sent his final opponent to the rail.

Benyamine said after taking the title, “It feels really good winning a title, I’m still not used to doing it. The whole time I never thought about winning, I just wanted to do what I thought was right. I know people always say that when they win but it’s true.

“Position in these final tables can help and I didn’t do anything special today, I just got hands at the right time and played them properly. Luke is a very impulsive player but I just stuck to my own game heads-up and it was enough.”

Schwartz was typically blunt in his post-tournament assessment. “I’m really, really disappointed – I keep getting second and third in these TV tournaments. I think I played the best this week and deserved to come first but that’s the way it goes – it just makes me want to take it down more next time.”

The overall payouts for Premier League IV were:

1: David Benyamine — $476,000
2: Luke Schwartz — $258,000
3: Giovanni Safina — $158,000
4: Daniel Negreanu — $132,000
5: Roland de Wolfe — $114,000
6: Phil Laak — $146,000

Beaten play-off players:
Ian Frazer — $52,000
[[p:J.C. Tran]] — $40,000

Failed to qualify:
9: Phil Hellmuth $38,000
10: Yevgeniy Timoshenko — $32,000
11: Vanessa Rousso — $32,000
12: Tony G — $22,000

In 2008 the event ways won by J.C. Tran and before that the title went to Andy Black.