Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

European Poker Tour -- Copenhagen Main Event Begins Today

PokerStars Nordic Poker Awards Ceremony Held on the Eve of the Event


Ville WahlbeckThe PokerStars European Poker Tour stop in Copenhagen began on Tuesday, Feb. 16 at 2 p.m. local time. The best professionals in the poker world have gathered in Denmark for this yearly highlight on the tournament trail. Last season Jens Kyllonen topped a field of 462 players to take home the top prize worth $1,141,474.

Before cards got into the air in the 35,000 DKK no-limit hold’em main event, the PokerStars Nordic Poker awards ceremony was held on Monday, Feb. 15. Ville Wahlbeck (pictured left) from Finland was the big winner at the awards ceremony. He took home both “Best Live Tournament Player of the Year” and “Best Performance of the Year” honors. Here is the full list of awards:

Best Live Tournament Player of the YearVille Wahlbeck (Finland)
Best Online Player of the YearPatrik Antonius (Finland)
Rookie of the Year — Kristoffer “Sumpas” Thorsson (Sweden)
Best Performance of the YearVille Wahlbeck (Finland)

Players began with 30,000 in chips in the no-limit hold’em main event, and blinds began at 50-100. Levels are 60 minutes long on day 1 and then increase to 75 minutes thereafter. The final table will crown a champion on Sunday, Feb. 21. You can follow along with all of the action from EPT Copenhagen on the PokerStars blog feed daily this week, and this weekend you can watch everything from the final two days of the event on the EPT Live video feed. Check back at the end of play each night for a full recap of the day’s events, provided by Card Player Europe.

Here is a look at the full schedule for the event:

Tuesday, Feb. 16: Day 1A
Wednesday, Feb. 17: Day 1B
Thursday, Feb. 18: Day 2
Friday, Feb. 19: Day 3
Saturday, Feb. 20: Day 4
Sunday, Feb.21: Final table

2009 EPT Copenhagen:

Buy-in: $9,795
Number of Entries: 462
Total Prize Pool: $3,832,468
First-Place Prize: $1,141,474
Places Paid: 40

Final-Table Results:

1: Jens Kyllonen — $1,141,474
2: Peter Hedlund — $646,190
3: Anders Langset — $375,332
4: Jussi Nevanlinna — $286,335
5: Petter Petersson — $236,033
6: Rasmus Nielsen — $185,731
7: Eric Larcheveque — $147,038
8: Jonas Klasuen — $104,473