Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Irish Poker Championship Returns To Galway This December

PokerStars is New Sponsor as Event Moves to December from January


Rory Rees Breena is the current Irish Poker ChampionThe Irish Poker Championship returns to the west of Ireland city of Galway from December 10 to 14 this year as takes over from and the event moves from early January to pre-Christmas.

The €2,000 buy-in main event takes place at the luxurious Radisson SAS hotel in the city and will be supported by side events with buy-ins of €550, €350 and €250.

A number of leading pros have already registered for the event including Andy Black, Surindar Sunar, Marcel Luske, Padraig Parkinson, Donnacha O’Dea, Jon Kalmer, Julian Gardner, Neil Channing, Jude Ainsworth, and Marty Smyth. spokesperson Kirsty Thompson said “The Irish Poker Championship has become one of the biggest events on the Irish Poker Calendar and we are delighted to be sponsoring it. Poker players appreciate good hospitality and a good party atmosphere and there is no better city than Galway to provide it.”

Last year the event was won by Rory Rees Brennan and the previous year by Jude “j.thaddeus” Ainsworth.