Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

WPT -- Sven Ragnar Astrom Wins First Venice Stop

The Swedish Player Took Home €397,960 for the Win


The World Poker Tour Venice event came to a conclusion on Sunday, May 10, at the Casino de Venezia in Italy. The €4,000+€400 buy-in no-limit hold’em tournament drew a total of 397 players, which created a prize pool worth €1,521,260, with a first-place prize worth €397,960 going to the winner. After four days of poker, the winner who emerged was Sven Ragnar Astrom, from Sweden. He defeated fellow Swede Per Martin Jacobson heads up, and Jacobson took home €238,840 for finishing runner-up. Notable professional Michael McDonald also made an appearance at the final table, and he finished in fourth place to take home €109,540.

On the final hand of the tournament, Astrom checked a board of JHeart Suit7Diamond Suit7Club SuitAHeart Suit4Heart Suit and Jacobson bet out, which opened up an opportunity for Astrom to check-raise. Astrom decided to check-raise all in, putting Jacobson on a decision for his tournament life. Jacobson quickly called all in and flipped over KHeart Suit6Heart Suit. Astrom then showed down pocket fours to win the tournament and take home his first WPT title. Astrom revealed after the final that he was playing in his first major live tournament.

There was an intense final-table bubble on the third day of the event that lasted several hours before Dario Minieri busted out of the tournament in seventh place. Minieri held pocket nines on his final hand, which unfortunately ran into the pocket kings of Astrom. The kings held on a 8-8-5-J-Q board, and Minieri was awarded €48,680 for finishing in seventh place. Astrom took a huge chip lead of 2.16 million into the final table as a result of the confrontation, and he held on during the final day for the victory.

Here is a look at the final-table results:

1st: Sven Ragnar Astrom — €397,960

2nd: Per Martin Jacobson — €238,840

3rd: vincent582 — €159, 740

4th: Michael McDonald — €109,540

5th: Michele Slama — €86,720

6th: Mario Adinolfi — €66,940