Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

This Week in Poker -- Poker Tournament News Mar. 21-27

Get All of Your Tournament Poker News on Fifth Street Each Workweek


Check out every Friday for a weekly wrap-up of the news from the live poker tournament trail.

Card Player Player of the Year Update

Steve Brecher1: Poorya Nazari — 3,000
2: Cornel Cimpan — 2,730
3: Anthony Gregg — 2,500
4: Steve Brecher — 2,340
5: Chris Moore — 2,110
6: Kathy Liebert — 2,100
7: Benjamin Spindler — 2,000
7: Binh Nguyen — 2,000
9: Tristan Clemencon — 1,962
10: Mike Leah — 1,920
10: Jens Kyllonen — 1,920
10: Stewart Scott — 1,920
10: Moritz Kranich — 1,920
10: Sandra Naujoks — 1,920

POY Movement

The Bay 101 Shooting Star $10,000 championship event has introduced three new contenders into the top 10 of the Card Player Player of the Year race. Capturing fourth place on the leader board is tournament veteran Steve Brecher. Brecher won $1,025,500 and 2,340 points for the first major tournament win of his career. This was Brecher’s first cash of 2009. He now holds $1,730,701 in career tournament winnings thanks to the win.

Kathy Liebert finished runner-up, marking the second time that a well-known woman professional has finished second in San Jose (J.J. Liu in 2007). Liebert took home $550,000 and 1,950 points for her strong performance. This is the third cash of the year for Liebert, who finished in 12th place at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure in January, and she also took 18th place at the World Series of Poker Circuit stop at Harrah’s Tunica in February. Liebert now has $670,000 in winnings in 2009 and she also holds 2,100 points, which is good for sixth place. Liebert now holds $5,550,577 in career tournament winnings, the most all time for a woman.

Chris Moore finished in third place at Bay 101, but thanks to his runner-up finish at the L.A. Poker Classic $10,000 heads-up championship in February, he now sits in fifth place with 2,110 points. Moore took home $291,500 in prize money and 1,560 points at Bay 101 and $190,000 and 550 points at Commerce Casino. Moore also cashed in 72nd place at the PCA to bring his money-won total for 2009 up to $481,500. This also marks the third year in a row that Moore has scored a six-figure payday in March. He finished in third place at the 2007 Wynn Classic to take home $192,060, and then he won the Wynn Classic in 2008 to win $692,286 and his first major career tournament title. With the final-table appearance at Bay 101, Moore jumped his career tournament winnings to $1,471,843 with a hefty amount of that won in March.

This Week in Poker

Card Player Live Coverage EventBay 101 Shooting Star

Kathy LiebertThe final six players took their seats at the final table of the 2009 Bay 101 Shooting Star tournament at 4 p.m. last Friday, and one of them walked away with their first World Poker Tour title when the champion was crowned early on Saturday, Mar. 21. Here is a look at the seating chart with chip counts when things began:

Seat 1: Chris Moore — 1,476,000
Seat 2: Thao Le — 711,000
Seat 3: Steve Brecher — 2,016,000
Seat 4: Tony Behari — 2,046,000
Seat 5: Kathy Liebert — 1,180,000
Seat 6: Chau Vu — 352,000

The day began very quickly with the two short stacks, Chau Vu (sixth place, $135,000) and Thao Le (fifth place, $180,000), falling in the first half hour. Every elimination after that proved to be a struggle. Tony Behari fell 4.5 hours later in fourth place ($230,000). Three-handed play proved to be a tough fight, as well. Chris Moore fell in third place ($291,500) after more than five hours of play. The heads-up match lasted another two hours, and things came to a close at 4:30 a.m when Steve Brecher defeated Kathy Liebert. The final table set the record for longest WPT final table ever at 319 hands. Liebert was awarded $550,000 for the runner-up finish, and Brecher took home the top prize worth $1,025,500.

Steve Brecher Wins the 2009 Bay 101 Shooting Star Event ($1,025,000)

Kathy Liebert raised to 175,000, and Steve Brecher moved all in. Liebert made the all-in call, and the two players flipped up their cards:

Liebert: Q 10
Brecher: A 9

Board: 6 6 2 2 4

Brecher won the hand with his ace kicker. He was awarded the first-place prize worth $1,025,500 and his first World Poker Tour title. Liebert was awarded $550,000 for her runner-up finish. Brecher also won the $5,000 bounty for knocking out the final shooting star remaining in the event.

Full Final-Table Recap

PokerStars LAPT — Punta Del Este, Uruguay

The final table of the PokerStars Latin American Poker tour stop at Punta Del Este, Uruguay, took place on Friday, Mar. 20. For the first time in LAPT history, there was a $1 million prize pool on the line, with $283,500 going to the eventual champion.

Karl Hevroy came into the Punta Del Esta event final table with the chip lead, and he never looked back. Hevroy eliminated Magno Aragao in eighth place, Oliver Rowe in fifth place, Ron Wasiel in fourth place, and Angel Guillen in third place to get down to a heads-up match against Alejandro De Arruabarrena.

The heads-up match was more of the same as Hevroy took a strong chip lead (3 million) into the final against Arruabarrena (543,000). In the first hand of heads-up play, Arruabarrena limped into a pot from the small blind and Hevroy checked. The flop was dealt 9 9 8, and Hevroy checked. Arruabarrena bet 70,000, and Hevroy made the call. The turn fell 4, Hevroy checked again, and Arruabarrena bet 100,000. Hevroy check-raised all in, and Arruabarrena called all in. Hevory turned over 9 8 for a full house, and Arruabarrena showed down Q J. The tournament title went to Hevroy after an inconsequential 4 fell on the river. Hevroy was awarded $283,500 for first place, and Arruabarrena took home $155,240 for the runner-up finish.

Here is a look at the final results with payouts:

1: Karl Hevroy — $283,500
2: Alejandro De Arruabarrena — $155,420
3: Angel Guillén — $99,120
4: Ron Wasiel — $82,160
5: Oliver Rowe — $59,960
6: Waldemar Cogo — $48,840
7: Bolivar Palacios Vasquez — $37,740
8: Magno Aragao — $26,640
9: Andre Ventura — $21,000

Selected Tournament Results:

Borgata $500,000 Guaranteed Deep Stack

Mike LeahBuy-in: $1,500
Number of Entries: 919
Total Prize Pool: $1,378,500
First-Place Prize: $319,536
Places Paid: 91

Final-Table Results:

1: Mike Leah — $319,536
2: Allen Bari — $196,436
3: William Stradley — $106,833
4: Boris Belanchuk — $93,048
5: Joseph Curcio — $79,263
6: Richard Hall — $65,478
7: Michael Silverman — $51,693
8: Ian Palomo — $37,909
9: Mike Kalfa — $27,570

Looking Ahead

WSOP Circuit – Harrah’s Rincon

Event Schedule
Event Preview

Foxwoods Poker Classic

Event Schedule
Event Preview

Heartland Poker Tour – Tama, Iowa

Event Schedule

Spring Break Poker Classic

Event Schedule

Dream Team Poker Tournament – Caesars Palace

Event Schedule

Five-Star World Poker Classic

Event Schedule

Venetian Deep Stack Extravaganza II

Event Schedule

Harvey’s Lake Tahoe Sierra Poker Classic

Event Schedule