Join A Poker Community Of 200,000+ Users!

This Week in Poker -- Poker Tournament News Mar. 7-13

Get All of Your Tournament Poker News on Fifth Street Each Workweek


Check out every Friday for a weekly wrap-up of the news from the live poker tournament trail.

Card Player Player of the Year Update

1: Poorya Nazari — 3,000
2: Cornel Cimpan — 2,730
3: Anthony Gregg — 2,500
4: Benjamin Spindler — 2,000
4: Binh Nguyen — 2,000
6: Tristan Clemencon — 1,962
7: Jens Kyllonen — 1,920
7: Stewart Scott — 1,920
7: Moritz Kranich — 1,920
10: Steve Weinstein — 1,800

This Week in Poker

Card Player Liver Coverage Event NBC National Heads-Up Championship

Finals Recap

FinalsThere was a break before the finals at the 2009 NBC National Heads-Up Championship to set up the trophy and $500,000 in cash that would go to the eventual champion. Vanessa Rousso and Huck Seed then returned to the final with a lot on the line. Seed would cement his claim as the most dominant player in NBC Heads-Up history with a win. Rousso would become the first woman to win the NBC Heads-Up title after facing the toughest road to the championship. The newly-minted girl defeated Doyle Brunson, Phil Ivey, 2007 champion Paul Wasicka, Negreanu, and Grospellier during an impressive run to advance to the final.

Seed showed his experience and jumped out to an early lead in the first match between the two in the best-of-three final. He took down a pot worth 100,000 with aces a half hour into play, and then, 20 minutes later, Rousso moved all in with Q J. She soon discovered that she was dominated when Seed flipped up K J. The board ran out A 9 5 6 A, giving Seed a quick win in the first match.

The players took a 15-minute break and then returned to the second match, which took on a serious tone, as Rousso buckled down in hopes of evening up the score. Rousso took a slight lead in the second match, but Seed regained it, and then he claimed his second win against Rousso in just under an hour. In the final hand, both players saw a board fill out with K 8 3 10 before the fireworks started. Rousso moved all in, and Seed made the call. Rousso showed J 10, and Seed turned over K 7. The river was the 5, and Rousso was eliminated in second place, earning $250,000.

Seed was crowned champion of the 2009 NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship and awarded $500,000 in cash by 2008 Champion Chris Ferguson. Seed also took home the championship trophy, and he topped Ferguson as the most successful player in the history of the event. Seed now holds a record of 18-4 in NBC Heads-Up competition.

Full Final-Day Recap

Full Results Bracket

Card Player Live Coverage EventPokerStars EPT German Open

At press time, 27 players remain in the hunt for the €917,000 first-place prize at the 2009 EPT German Open. Notable professionals still in the hunt include William Thorson, Johan Storakers, Andreas Hoivold, Florian Langmann, Michael Mcdonald, and Luca Pagano. Be sure to follow along with the all of the action in live updates and chips counts. Starting today, you can watch every minute live on the EPT Live video feed.

EPT German Open Day 1A Recap
EPT German Open Day 1B Recap

Looking Ahead

Card Player Live Coverage EventBay 101 Shooting Star

Monday, Mar. 16: Day 1A
Tuesday, Mar. 17: Day 1B
Wednesday, Mar. 18: Day 2
Thursday, Mar. 19: Day 3
Friday, Mar. 20: Final table

Event Preview

Card Player Live Coverage EventWynn Classic

Monday, Mar. 16: Day 1
Tuesday, Mar. 17: Day 2
Wednesday, Mar. 18: Day 3
Thursday, Mar. 19: Final table

Event Preview

Heartland Poker Tour
Deadwood, S.D.

Event Schedule

World Poker Challenge

Event Schedule
Event Preview Story

WSOP Circuit
Caesars Atlantic City

Event Schedule
Event Preview

Winnin’ O’ the Green

Event Schedule
Event Preview

Borgata $500,000 Guaranteed Deep Stack

Event Schedule

PokerStars LAPT – Punta Del Este, Uruguay

Event Schedule