Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Aussie Millions -- Stewart Scott Wins the 2009 Main Event

The Australian Walks Away with $2 Million AUD in Prize Money


Aussie Millions Main Event Final TableThe final table at the 2009 Aussie Milions Poker Champioinship $10,500 AUD no-limit hold'em main event began today at 12:30 p.m. and eight players returned to stake their claim at a first-place prize worth $2,000,000 AUD. Barny Boatman was joined by a group of relative unknowns to start the day, and the final table was a wide-open oppurtunty for one player to grab poker stardom. Here was how the chip stacks lined up at the start of play:

Seat 1: Zach Gruneberg -- 1,355,000
Seat 2: Barny Boatman -- 349,000
Seat 3: Elliot Smith -- 1,120,000
Seat 4: Richard Ashby -- 658,000
Seat 5: Stewart Scott -- 4,520,000
Seat 6: Peter Rho -- 2,420,000
Seat 7: Rajkumar Ramakrishnan -- 2,050,000
Seat 8: Sam Capra -- 1,161,00

Play was slow to start things off, and Boatman took advantage. He grew his stack up to 800,000 early, but he eventually became the first player to fall in eighth place ($100,000 AUD). The late-arriving Richard Ashby was the second player to hit the rail; he fell just a short time after Boatman in seventh place ($150,000 AUD). The players then decided to go to an early dinner break just four hours into the final table.

Stewart ScottWhen they returned, it wasn't too long before back-to-back eliminations struck again. First, Zach Gruneberg hit the rail in sixth place ($210,000 AUD), and he was followed by a short-stacked Sam Capra, who busted in fifth place ($300,000 AUD). After that flurry of activity, eliminations came far and few between. A battle took place during four-handed action that finally saw the fall of perennial big stack Rajkumar Ramakrishnan in fourth place ($400,000). An even longer battle ensued after that, and action charged late into the night three-handed. Shortly before midnight, Elliot Smith finally met his doom. Smith had doubled up multuple times during the final table to make a deep run, and he earned a hard-fought third-place victory ($700,000 AUD).

The heads-up battle was much shorter between Stewart Scott and Peter Rho. It lasted just 13 hands and featured an exciting conclusion. Scott held pocket aces in the final showdown, and they held up to eliminte Rho in second place ($1,000,000 AUD). Scott was the champion, and he became the first Australian champion of the Aussie Millions. He was awarded $2,000,000 AUD and an Aussie Millions main event champion gold bracelet for the win.

Here is a how the eliminations went down, as featured in's live updates:

Barny BoatmanBarny Boatman Eliminated in Eighth Place ($100,000 AUD)

Barny Boatman moved all in preflop, and Zach Gruneberg called him down. Their cards:

Boatman: A 2
Gruneberg: A Q

Board: A 7 3 7 4

Boatman was eliminated on the hand, and he took home $100,000 AUD in prize money.

Richard AshbyRichard Ashby Eliminated in Seventh Place ($150,000 AUD)

Rajkumar Ramakrishnan raised to 90,000 preflop, and Elliot Smith made the call. Richard Ashby moved all in, and both opponents made the call. The flop fell 4 2 2, and both Smith and Ramakrishnan checked. The turn fell 10, they checked again, and the river was the 9 as the two live players conitnued to check. Ramakrishnan flipped over A-K, which was enough to win the pot over the A-Q held by both Smith and Ashby. Ashby was eliminated on the hand in seventh place, and he took home $150,000 AUD.

Zach Gruneberg Eliminated in Sixth Place ($210,000)

Zach GrunebergZach Gruneberg raised to 100,000 preflop from middle position, and Rajkumar Ramakrishnan made the call from the big blind. The flop was dealt J 4 4, and Ramakrishnan checked. Gruneberg bet 150,000, and Ramakrishnan made the call. The turn fell 7, and Ramakrishnan checked. Gruneberg moved all in, and Ramakrishnan made the call. Their cards:

Gruneberg: K J
Ramakrishnan: 4 4

River: 9

Ramakrihsnan took down the hand with quads, and Gruneberg was eliminated in sixth place. He took home $210,000 AUD in prize money.Sam Capra

Sam Capra Eliminated in Fifth Place ($300,000 AUD)

Sam Capra moved all in preflop for a quarter of a million in chips, and Peter Rho made the call. Their cards:

Capra: 10 10
Rho: A A

Board: Q Q 3 9 5

Capra was eliminated on the hand in fifth place, and he took home $300,000 AUD in prize money.

Rajkumar Ramakrishnan Eliminated in Fourth Place ($400,000 AUD)

Peter Rho raised to 280,000 preflop from the big Rajkumar Ramakrishnanblind, and Rajkumar Ramakrishnan reraised to 580,000. Rho reraised all in, and Ramakrishan made the call for his tourament life. Their cards:

Ramakrishnan: A A
Rho: K K

Board: K 10 5 3 2

Ramakrishnan was eliminated in fourth place, and he took home $400,000 AUD in prize money.Elliot Smith

Elliot Smith Eliminated in Third Place ($700,000 AUD)

Elliot Smith limped from the button, and Stewart Scott moved all in. Smith called for his tournament life, and the two players turned up their hands:

Smith: A Q
Scott: A 7

Board: K K 10 7 5

Smith was eliminated in third place, and he will take home $700,000 AUD in prize money.

Heads-Up Chip Counts:

Stewart Scott: 10,700,000
Peter Rho: 2,900,000

Peter RhoStewart Scott Wins the 2009 Aussie Millions Main Event ($2,000,000 AUD)

Stewart Scott raised to 250,000, and Peter Rho went into the tank. He then reraised all in for 2,175,000, and Scott instantly made the call. Their cards:

Scott: A A
Rho: A J

Board: 9 8 2 4 9

Peter Rho was eliminated in second place, and he will take home $1,000,000 AUD in prize money. Stewart Scott is the 2009 Aussie Millions Poker Championships main-event champion! He took home $2,000,000 AUD in prize money, the champion's gold bracelet, and a lot of national pride as an Australian claiming the crown.