Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

B.C. Poker Championship Begins on Thursday

The Fourth-Annual British Columbia Poker Championship is Hosted by the Largest Poker Room in Canada


Daniel NegreanuThe fourth-annual British Columbia Poker Championship begins on Thursday, Nov. 20, and it will crown a champion on Sunday, Nov. 23. The event will also be televised and will gather a lot of poker professionals to the River Rock Casino Resort in Richmond, British Columbia. Among the professionals who will play in the event are Canadian-born Daniel Negreanu, Gavin Smith, and Brad “Yukon” Booth. The main event is a $2,500 no-limit hold’em tournament, which caps off a schedule that includes four preliminary events.

This is the second-largest poker tournament of the year in Canada, outside of the World Poker Tour North American Poker Championship, which is hosted each fall in Niagara Falls, Ontario. The River Rock Casino Resort is also the largest casino in Western Canada, and the poker room holds 25 tables (making it the largest in Canada) that spread limit and no-limit variations of Texas hold’em, Omaha, Omaha eight-or-better, and seven-card stud, as well as daily poker tournaments.

Here is a look at the main event schedule:

Thursday, Nov. 20: Day 1 (All tournament days begin at noon PST)
Friday, Nov. 21: Day 2
Saturday, Nov. 22: Day 3
Sunday, Nov. 24: Final table

Players will begin with 15,000 in chips and levels will be 60 minutes long.

Preliminary Event Schedule

NOTE: All events at the 2008 B.C. Poker Championships are Card Player Player of the Year events.

2007 B.C. Poker Championships

Number of Entries: 643
Buy-in: $2,500
Total Prize Pool: $1,610,000
First-Place Prize: $402,500
Places Paid: 65

Final-Table Results:

1: Daniel Idema -- $402,500
2: Jason Dong -- $250,355
3: Brad Birarda -- $156,170
4: Robert Marwood -- $112,700
5: Zachary Fellows -- $88,550
6: Richard Prokopetz -- $70,840
7: Michael Brigante -- $57,960
8: Tam Tang -- $45,080
9: Robert Miruci -- $34,615

Notable Cashes: Steve Billirakis (19th), Ralph Porter (21st), John Esposito (48tg), and David Peters (61st).

Past Champions:

2005: James Hawkins -- $320,459
2006: Dave White -- $600,000