Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Poker Tour Championship Starts Today

Last Chance Super Satellites Run Today to Qualify for the $25,000 Buy-in


Carlos MortensenThe most prestigious event on the World Poker Tour’s yearly schedule starts tomorrow at the Bellagio Five-Diamond World Poker Classic, and today is the last chance to qualify in a super satellite for the $25,000 buy-in WPT Championship that is sure to feature a multi-million dollar prize pool.

The last two $2,500 buy-in super satellites ran yesterday at 1 p.m. and 10 p.m.  Day 1A of the event begins tomorrow at noon.

The following are the past WPT Championship winners:

2007─ Juan Carlos Mortensen Joe Bartholdi

  • First-Place Prize: $3,970,415
  • Entrants: 639
  • Prize Pool: $15,495,750

2006─ Joe Bartholdi

  • First-Place Prize: $3,760,165
  • Entrants: 605
  • Prize Pool: 14,671,250Tuan Le

2005─ Tuan Le

  • First-Place Prize: $2,856,150
  • Entrants: 452
  • Prize Pool: $10,961,000

2004─ Martin de Knijff

  • First-Place Prize: $2,728,356
  • Entrants: 343Martin de Knijff
  • Prize Pool: $8,342,000

2003─ Alan Goehring

  • First-Place Prize: $1,011,886
  • Entrants: 111
  • Prize Pool: $2,691,750

photos, and videos on Goehring The Card Player reporting will be at the event to provide chip counts, live updates,