Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Bay 101 Gears Up for WPT Shooting Star Poker Event

The $10,000 Buy-In Championship Tournament Begins Monday


Ted ForrestOne of the most anticipated and unique World Poker Tour stops is the Bay 101 Shooting Star $10,000 buy-in event, and the action begins tomorrow at the Bay 101 Casino in San Jose, California, with a supersatellite to get into the main event.

For the championship event, a “star,” or poker professional with a bounty on his head is placed at every table. Should a player “shoot” a star out of the tournament, they collect a $5,000 bounty. Not only can players win back their buy-ins by knocking out two bounties, they can also win $10,000 for being the day 1 or day 2 chip leader.

To get into this event for cheaper, there is a supersatellite scheduled tomorrow at 9:30 a.m. It is a spread-limit hold’em tournament with a $1,050 buy-in wherein the top finishers will receive a seat. For those wanting a shot at a World Series of Poker seat or looking for a way to warm up for the Shooting Star event, there is a $2,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em tournament on Sunday at 10:30 a.m. that is awarding three $10,000 seats.

Last year at the Bay 101 Shooting Star event, there were 450 players, making the prize pool nearly $4.5 million. The legendary Ted Forrest beat J.J. Liu heads up to take the top prize of $1.1 million. To view a video interview with Forrest just after his win, click here.

The following are the 2008 Shooting Stars: Ted Forrest, Joe Hachem, Doyle Brunson, Todd Brunson, Freddy Deeb, Gus Hansen, Allen Cunningham, Scotty Nguyen, J.C. Tran, Daniel Negreanu, Phil Hellmuth, Barry Greenstein, Mike Matusow, Erik Seidel, T.J. Cloutier, John Juanda, Chad Brown, Jennifer Tilly, Patrik Antonius, Cyndy Violette, Mimi Tran, Sully Erna, John Cernuto, Kenna James, Roy Winston, Barbara Enright, Eli Elezra, Phil Ivey, Antonio Esfandiari, J.J. Liu, Layne Flack, Chau Giang, Mike Gracz, Isabelle Mercier, Hoyt Corkins, Dan Harrington, Joe Sebok, Phil Laak, Kristy Gazes, Erick Lindgren, Tom McEvoy, Mike Mizrachi, Jerry Yang, Men Nguyen, Kathy Liebert, David Pham, Gavin Smith, Jennifer Harman, Amir Vahedi, David Williams, and Robert Williamson III.

(These players are subject to change.)