Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

David Peters Captures His Second 2024 PokerGO Cup Title

36-Year-Old Poker Pro Tops 70 Entries In $15,700 Buy-In Event For $315,000 Payday


The 2024 PokerGO Cup is down to its final event, with seven of the eight tournaments on the schedule now in the books. David Peters is the player to beat heading into the finale, as the only player to win multiple titles so far this series. The 36-year-old poker pro took down the $5,300 buy-in opening event for $141,525, and then emerged victorious the penultimate tournament, securing $315,000 as the winner of that $15,700 buy-in affair.

With 457 PokerGO Tour points and $456,525 in series earnings, Peters now has a 110-point lead on the nearest competition in the race for the PokerGO Cup championship title. Peters’ success in this series has moved him into fourth place in the season-long PGT standings as well.

Peters has already made four final tables in 2024, accumulating 1,324 Card Player Player of the Year points along the way. This latest win catapulted the 2016 POY award winner into 10th place in the 2024 POY standings presented by Global Poker.

This was Peters’ 43rd recorded tournament title, with more than $47.7 million in lifetime earnings accumulated across 505 in-the-money finishes. He now sits in ninth place on poker’s all-time money list.

This latest win saw Peters top a field of 70 entries. The $1,050,000 prize pool was split up among the top 10 finishers, with big names like Stephen Chidwick (9th), Sean Winter (8th), and Nick Petrangelo (7th) making the money but failing to survive to day 2 action.

Peters entered the final six in second chip position behind recent 2023 PGT Championship winner Daniel Smiljkovic.

Morten Klein was the first to fall, with his top pair of aces and running into the turned set of queens held by Brock Wilson. Klein had a redraw to a straight, but a blank on the river sent him packing in sixth place ($57,750).

Kristen FoxenFour-time bracelet winner Kristen Foxen scored a big double up with top two pair against the top pair and open-ended straight draw of World Poker Tour champion Seth Davies to surge up the leaderboard. Davies was left on fumes after the hand and was soon eliminated in fifth place ($78,750).

A classic preflop race spelled the end of Smiljkovic’s run in this event. His A-Q was unable to outrun the pocket fours of Wilson, resulting in a fourth-place finish for the German pro. He took home $105,000.

There were several lead changes during three-handed action, but eventually, Wilson ran a queen-high flush draw into the nut flush draw of Foxen. He was left short after the chips went in on the flop and both players made their flush on the end. Wilson got the last of his stack in with A-K leading the Q-10 of Peters, but a queen-high runout saw him eliminated in third place ($141,750).

Heads-up play began with Peters holding 5,825,000 to Foxen’s 2,925,000. He was soon able to convert that lead into the title. In the final hand, Foxen moved all-in for 1,875,000 from the button with JHeart Suit10Club Suit. Peters called the 12.5 big blind shove with AClub Suit4Club Suit and the board came down AHeart Suit2Heart Suit2Club Suit3Diamond SuitJSpade Suit. Peters made aces and deuces to send Foxen to the rail with $204,750 for her runner-up showing.

Foxen has now made six final tables so far in 2024, with one title won along the way. As a result, she now sits in seventh place in the POY standings and second in the PGT points race. This was her second cash of this series, having also finished eighth in event no. 4 for $32,400. She now has more than $8.2 million in lifetime tournament earnings, the second-highest total of any female player. Only Vanessa Selbst ($10,899,027) has cashed for more on the circuit.

Here is a look at the payouts and rankings points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points PGT Points
1 David Peters $315,000 504 315
2 Kristen Foxen $204,750 420 205
3 Brock Wilson $141,750 336 142
4 Daniel Smiljkovic $105,000 252 105
5 Seth Davies $78,750 210 79
6 Morten Klein $57,750 168 58

Photo credits: PokerGO / Antonio Abrego.